A Few Basic Questions, please

Status
Not open for further replies.

BOBRR

Hello,

Would like to get started with monitoring cruise ships (and also basic Maritime traffic) and have a few very fundamental questions please:
I see most of the frequencies in use are in the 400 MHz or so region.
I have a radio (SDRPlay RSP-2) that covers these, but do I need a Scanner to practically do so ?
e.g., are these CC and trunked systems, etc. ?

Live about 25 miles from Boston. Is monitoring when they are in Port probably the only practical listening ?

If you could get me started as to what I need, and how practical with just an RSP-2, would be most appreciative.
And, any Software programs I should get familiar with, etc. ?

Also, are there any sites like Plane plotter, etc. that one can subscribe to ?

I read the wiki(s), but feel i still need some really basic and fundamental
info/help in getting started.

Thanks,
Bob

kb5udf

Premium Subscriber
I'm no expert on sdrplay, but for monitoring ship locations, you can use
marinetraffic.com

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Hello,

Would like to get started with monitoring cruise ships (and also basic Maritime traffic) and have a few very fundamental questions please:
I see most of the frequencies in use are in the 400 MHz or so region.

There are two common radio systems used by cruise ships, which one you want to listen to will depend on what you want to hear:
- VHF Marine channels (156-162MHz) These frequencies are used primarily for navigation, talking with other ships, vessel traffic control, etc.
- UHF Marine channels (457-467MHz) These frequencies are used for the ships interior communications

There are other systems for internal ship communications, 900MHz, etc.

I have a radio (SDRPlay RSP-2) that covers these, but do I need a Scanner to practically do so ?
e.g., are these CC and trunked systems, etc. ?

Depends on exactly who you want to listen to.