BC75XLT: BC75XLT Question - Newbie

Huxton2424

Hi all - Complete newbie here. Actually I’m here just trying to help my (90 year old!) aunt. My uncle knew all about this stuff but he passed away several years ago so here I am!

Her old scanner stopped working some time ago and she really misses it so she had me order a new one for her. I know nothing and she really doesn’t either. All she knew was that she wanted a handheld one and didn’t want anything ‘fancy’ as she put it, so I ended up going with the BC75XLT and hoped I’d be able to figure it out. I’m struggling to program it though. I’d consider myself intelligent generally speaking and I tend to pick up on things pretty quickly but this…I’m just in a completely unknown world here. I suspect, based on what I’ve read, that the issue is that the frequencies in our area are mostly digital and this scanner doesn’t have the capability for this. Could someone confirm this and if correct, point me in the direction of a low-cost, handheld model that *is*? Location is Noble County Indiana, town of Kendallville specifically. If that’s not the issue then I’m just completely lost and could really use some guidance in getting this thing set up. Thanks in advance for any help.

sallen07

Premium Subscriber
Welcome to RadioReference.

I'll start with a suggestion. You might get better answers to your question if it's in the Indiana forum. If you click on "Report" at the bottom of your post you can ask the moderators to move it. I can look at the database (link below) and make a recommendation, but there might be someone reading the Indiana forum that lives in Noble County and has first-hand experience.