• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Beale AFB P25 system off the air.

Status
Not open for further replies.

jimvm

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
236
Location
Olivehurst, California
I checked this afternoon and the P25 trunking system is off the air.
Still off at 7 PM. Nothing on 380-400 MHz either.
Maintenance?

jim vm
 

jimvm

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
236
Location
Olivehurst, California
Beale new VHF system found

I found the new Beale AFB P25 system on VHF.
I need to figure out how to program my BCD996T so anyone out there with some help?

This is what I found so far.

Mot sys A837h,
138.3625 CC
138.3875
138.5125
138.1625
139.7625
138.0375
138.2625
137.7375 weak, not sure

The UHF 406 MHz system is gone!

jim vm
 

milcom_chaser

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
860
I checked this afternoon and the P25 trunking system is off the air.
Still off at 7 PM. Nothing on 380-400 MHz either.
Maintenance?

jim vm
Why would they dump a perfectly good SmartZone system on UHF for something else?
 

inigo88

California DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
1,698
Location
San Diego, CA
Great find! It's interesting to see they elected to put the new P25 system on VHF 136-143 MHz and not 380-406 MHz.

I don't have a BCD996, but isn't there a P25 auto detect mode? It should be as easy as setting "P25-Auto" (or maybe P25-VHF) and inputting the control channel, because P25 announces the bandplan thru the CC.

Can anyone run Pro96Com or Unitrunker on the new system and let us know what you find?
 

kma371

Member
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Messages
6,190
Great find! It's interesting to see they elected to put the new P25 system on VHF 136-143 MHz and not 380-406 MHz.

I don't have a BCD996, but isn't there a P25 auto detect mode? It should be as easy as setting "P25-Auto" (or maybe P25-VHF) and inputting the control channel, because P25 announces the bandplan thru the CC.

Can anyone run Pro96Com or Unitrunker on the new system and let us know what you find?
Sometimes I can hear it at night. I'll see if I can get it, or I'll drive up there this weekend.


Sent from my iPhone 4 using Tapatalk
 

milcom_chaser

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
860
Wonder if it was not feasible to run fully P-25 encryption on their current system, so they went VHF. Can't imagine PAVEPAWS had anything to do with it. That was in place years before the UHF SmartZone...
 

jimvm

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
236
Location
Olivehurst, California
Beale VHF P25 system

They appear to be using the same talk groups as the UHF system.
I can only decode the control channel using custom search with the BCD996T.
I can see the system ID and address and the group ID numbers.
Have not been successful making a trunk system work yet.
So far have tried base frequency of 136.000 and step of 12.5 KHz.
It may be that the old BCD996T is unable to track VHF P25.
I hope the system is not using encryption!
I live 8 miles away from Beale so signals are strong.

Will keep trial and error, anyone let us know your results.

Regards, jim vm
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
have control on 138.0375, ct tone of 105.88, sid of a837 using psr 500 analyze, motorola vhf/uhf setting, tried unitrunker and pro96com, could not get to funtion, sorry
 

jimvm

Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2005
Messages
236
Location
Olivehurst, California
Thanks for input!

Thanks for your input.
You might find the P25 VHF system of Fairchild AFB in Spokane, Washington to be of use in
your initial setup.
It's nighttime now and activity is minimal. Will try again tmw at standard work hours :)

jim vm
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
on p25 auto i could not get any info, only on the mot vhf/uhf, now as far as the pro96com or unitrunker, are these under a trunking forum, or software?
 

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,464
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
Yeah, this is the older 3600 style of system. Nice assumption-derailment Inigo. ;)

All they did is swap the UHF stations with VHF ones. Kept the same controller and had Moto issue them an upgrade for VHF use. It's not really that special of a move.

For those of you with an XT or 500/600/800 you need to get a raw output of the control channel. And then one of us can calc it for the base and spacing. You can always try 138.0000 or 138.0125 with 380 and 12.5 to get started.

Based on what I was told by a former "user" the coverage was never that great on UHF.
 

b52hbuff

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
1,583
Location
Los Altos, CA
Yeah, this is the older 3600 style of system. Nice assumption-derailment Inigo. ;)

All they did is swap the UHF stations with VHF ones. Kept the same controller and had Moto issue them an upgrade for VHF use. It's not really that special of a move.

For those of you with an XT or 500/600/800 you need to get a raw output of the control channel. And then one of us can calc it for the base and spacing. You can always try 138.0000 or 138.0125 with 380 and 12.5 to get started.

Based on what I was told by a former "user" the coverage was never that great on UHF.
Didn't mean to help push the train off of the track, but someone was mentioning P25. ;)

Wonder if the HP-1 can help map out the system? Gotta go find it...
 

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,464
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
Wonder if the HP-1 can help map out the system? Gotta go find it...
For that style (along with the 800) you would think they would add the math to do it. It's nothing complex. In many cases you don't even need any voice channels but it helps to confirm the spacing.

It's nice that the GRE's have the simple feature to turn on announcement of the channel ID. It's under Advanced but the name escapes me. It's not something you turn on and leave on.
 

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 16, 2000
Messages
7,464
Location
Sitting in an airport somewhere
I'm getting it just barely at home in SJ County. CC is on 138.0375 and is announcing that as $17F. That equates to a base of 138.0000, spacing of 12.5 and offset of 380. I think I got a voice channel on $212 which would be 139.8750 if the base stays the same and the data decode was correct.

And no, no site #.
 

inigo88

California DB Admin
Database Admin
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
1,698
Location
San Diego, CA
Yeah, this is the older 3600 style of system. Nice assumption-derailment Inigo. ;)

All they did is swap the UHF stations with VHF ones. Kept the same controller and had Moto issue them an upgrade for VHF use. It's not really that special of a move.

For those of you with an XT or 500/600/800 you need to get a raw output of the control channel. And then one of us can calc it for the base and spacing. You can always try 138.0000 or 138.0125 with 380 and 12.5 to get started.

Based on what I was told by a former "user" the coverage was never that great on UHF.
Damn! Assumption-derailment indeed, I wholeheartedly plead guilty.

Coming from the land of the multiple 380 MHz P25 systems belonging to different branches of the military (with identical sysIDs but separate infrastructure and overlapping site coverages), a simple repeater swap and site controller reprogramming didn't seem like the most likely explanation. That would have been entirely too logical!

I guess the F-22/F-35 orders ate into the grandiose radio system upgrade budget. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top