• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Decode problems CSP

Status
Not open for further replies.

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
I am setting up a radio to monitor CSP, I have it set for C4FM. The radio stops on an active channel, but there is no decode, I can hear the P-25 audio, but it fades in and out. Is it possible I am too far, I live in Dutchess County NY, but at 1100ft elevation, or do I have the modulation type set wrong would CQPSK or Wideband work better?
 

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
Ah, thanks I thought this post got lost between the cracks. I have an Astro Spectra, P-25 compliant,and is set to Type II/IIi, I am looking to monitor from the Danbury area north to Hartford from Dutchess County New York. I tried changing the decode mode numerous times from C4FM to CQPSK to Wide Band. RX modulation is set to 2 level, since 4 level is for encryption. Channel bandwidth set to 25kz , NPSPAC bandwidth is 20kz, not set to splinter channels, not set to shuffled band plan. I put in all the primary control frequencies, and I mainly get troop G dispatch, with the radios ID number, but no audio decode.
BTW the radio has had the TX VCO disconnected from the rest of the radio so it's not going to transmit.
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
10,353
Location
Taxachusetts
w/o the System Key [Motorola Property] I am lost as to how your listening or have it programmed, unless you just happen to be catching ONE of the Voice channels.

Ah, thanks I thought this post got lost between the cracks. I have an Astro Spectra, P-25 compliant,and is set to Type II/IIi, I am looking to monitor from the Danbury area north to Hartford from Dutchess County New York. I tried changing the decode mode numerous times from C4FM to CQPSK to Wide Band. RX modulation is set to 2 level, since 4 level is for encryption. Channel bandwidth set to 25kz , NPSPAC bandwidth is 20kz, not set to splinter channels, not set to shuffled band plan. I put in all the primary control frequencies, and I mainly get troop G dispatch, with the radios ID number, but no audio decode.
BTW the radio has had the TX VCO disconnected from the rest of the radio so it's not going to transmit.
 

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
I wasn't really expecting this kind of response on RR, it's more like what I would get at Batlabs. If you don't have an answer that fine, say so. BTW system keys are generated on Notepad, so that's not a problem. I have read "do you want to put a radio on a trunked system" I inputted on that very post long ago, and my comments were that if you don't know what you are doing then don't do it, otherwise all bets are off. I do know what I am doing, I have legit software and the like. This appears to be a setting or signal quality issue, and I was hoping for someone with a little more experience with CSP than me. I guess I'll post over at Batlabs and get more abuse over there, but I'll probably get what I am looking for.
Enough with the radio police act.
 
Last edited:

Placid1

Member
Joined
Aug 29, 2011
Messages
78
Location
NM
I thought there might be something in that link, or the link in that link that might help you figure out how to do what you wanted, sorry if you thought otherwise.

Hope you find what you need.
 

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
Sorry if I seemed perturbed, but the monitoring a trunked system with a Motorola is right up there with encryption as a hot topic, and I really didn't want to rant on you. I was hoping for some one with first hand knowledge of the systems design that might help with my monitoring that's all. Thanks.
 

ecps92

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
10,353
Location
Taxachusetts
Guess Not :twisted:

I do know what I am doing.
Maybe time for CTSP to upgrade the SysKey :roll: and Zap some extra radios



I have legit software and the like. This appears to be a setting or signal quality issue, and I was hoping for someone with a little more experience with CSP than me. I guess I'll post over at Batlabs and get more abuse over there, but I'll probably get what I am looking for.
Enough with the radio police act.
 

radioman2001

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,746
Location
New York North Carolina and all points in between
Upgrading the syskey won't help, they only thing that would is the requirement of a true P-25 trunking controller with a version 7.x and up, that has control channel encryption, like Harris. Not going to happen for at least a few years, and BTW that will eliminate all trunked monitoring with a scanner too. The radio can't affiliate since it has no transmitter, so it can't be zapped either. Never ceases to amaze me how people can be when they THINK they are right, maybe it's time to hand out some SAP's. As I said if you don't have a constructive answer to help, don't bother repling.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top