I'm greener than envy to HAM and need some direction!

dasboot71

I'm a total newb to HAM. So to get my feet wet and to see if I am interested in staying in it I purchased a Baofeng UV-S9Plus and a 42.5" Abbree Tactical Antenna, paid for a Premium subscription to Radio Reference, and downloaded CHIRP. When I query Radio Reference and RepeaterBook through CHIRP for the LV both come back with ENORMOUS lists. So I guess my questions for now are as follows:

Of course the following answers need to be within the range of frequencies my limited Baofeng handles VHF: 136-174MHz (RX/TX), UHF: 400-520MHz (RX/TX), 65-108MHz

What repeaters are active and can I reach with my setup(looking at the 133 choices on Repeaterbook is DAUNTING)?

What frequencies (out of the 907 that query in CHIRP from Radio Reference) are interesting and active from Radio Reference? I like listening to Police, Fire, Rescue, Aviation, etc

Radio Reference shows me all Amateur HAM people and Radio Callsigns in my area with the people's names? How do you contact them? Do they have their own frequency or do they just go to general frequencies and/or repeater frequencies? As you can tell I am kind of clueless LOL.

Hit_Factor

Talk to the guys in your local ham club. They will get you setup, maybe even program your HT to get you started.

The next best thing is your local frequency coordinators, their report on repeaters is what you need.

Repeaterbook has too much info and much of it is outdated and just plain wrong. I found submitting amatuer radio info to RR to have it's own issues.

You won't hear much public safety, unless you are very rural. Most Public Safety uses Trunked P25 systems these days. You probably need a scanner to listen to your list of services. Ham radios don't usually work with in the freqs/bands you listed. Tell us where you are, then we can give better info.

Here is a thread another new ham just started a few days ago. New Technician - starting point questions...

Last edited: