My two pet peeves about amateur portable radios

A little background first: I'm a 30 year+ amateur radio operator. I also managed a commercial two-way radio system for several years--over 100 mobile and portable radios, 6 base stations, and two mountaintop repeaters, using both analog and digital (NXDN) protocols. So, I've spent a lot of time around both commercial and amateur radio equipment.

Now, my two pet peeves--the first applies to both amateur portable and mobile radios, the second applies to portables:
1. Lack of 2.5 kHz step spacing on nearly all amateur VHF (2-meter) radio equipment. Why is this a big problem when most all amateur 2-meter communications use 5 kHz channel spacing? Well, because most amateurs ALSO use their amateur radio equipment's extended receive capabilities to monitor non-amateur radio channels that may (and more increasingly do) use the 2.5 kHz "splinter" channels created by the "re-farming" of the commercial VHF spectrum in 2013. There are only a few of the Japanese radio manufacturers that offer ANY 2-meter models that are 2.5 kHz step-capable. Most Chinese radios offer 2.5 kHz step capability, but many of those radios have other quality issues or other shortcomings that make them unattractive. Most all of the Chinese and many of the Japanese radios also have what I consider a major second flaw that I discuss below.