Need a bit of help picking a handheld scanner

Chernobyl

Hey there, I browsed through a good bit of the threads here but I'm really new to all of this so some things were a bit unclear, so I'm making a thread to get some clarity. I recently picked up a Uniden BC125AT and realized it wont quite work for what I need so I'm looking for a better unit - the cost of them is really high though so I want to make sure I pick the right scanner before buying.

I'm in Benton county (Bella Vista/Gravette area specifically) and I just need a handheld scanner that can pickup the local police/fire/emergency broadcasts, I've looked at the frequencies page and was leaning towards a Uniden BCD436HP with the DMR upgrade but I did see on another page that Benton County uses Simulcast? I read that the BCD436HP might have distortion issues with Simulcast and I should potentially get the SDS100? I also saw that AWIN will be going to p-25 phase 2 within 5 years? Not sure if that will make something like the 436 obsolete and make the sds100 more favorable. I dont mind paying the 600 if it means I have a scanner that performs well and is future proof, but if the 436 can pickup all the local stuff I wouldnt mind not having to spend an extra few hundred. Any help at all would be great, other radio suggestions also very welcome (ideally handheld/portable) as well, I'm super new to everything radio but so far the community has been super helpful.

Benton Frequencies:

I'm sorry if this is confusing lol, its early and I'm trying to get this out before going to work - tl:dr - In Benton County, need good handheld scanner, currently leaning towards either 436hp or sds100, just need advice which would work best for this area.

03msc

RF is RF
Premium Subscriber