New guy here... coming in from the right :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonny75904

Hi guys,

Just signed up for an account. I'm very new to this stuff (aka ignorant). I'm a software developer - been doing it for 15 years. Here for walkie talkies, possibly rail fanning, and just discovering the radio world as a whole.

I bought a pair of Arcshell AR-5 walkies about a year ago. That's pretty much my setup. I took a picture of my setup... it's just a walkie.

Still, for what I spent, it gets the job done, and I'll shed no tears if they get destroyed. I have the walkies so when my son goes out to play / explore I can get in touch with him. We just discovered some other families in the neighborhood also have walkie talkies, so now the channels are starting to come to life just a little bit.

I bought a RETVIS programming cable, downloaded CHIRP, downloaded the image of my AR-5 (attached), but there's just one problem: I'm an idiot. I had no clue what I was looking at. So I did an hour or two of reading on this site, and on the CHIRP site+wiki yesterday, and learned a fair amount, but not enough, and as a parent of three small kids I don't get much time to read. I mean... I bought the cable 8 months ago, and I'm just now getting to use it.

So please, someone help me out here. I need some guidance...

1. First, I've checked my OOB configured frequencies against the FCC database and confirmed there's no conflicts with other registered entities near me. There's are a few that match, but the entities are about 30 miles from me, and these walkies don't work past the entrance of my neighborhood. So I'm good there, I think.

2. I want to reprogram my channels with settings that make sense for the neighborhood. A few low-power channels, a few high-power channels, etc. The image shows there's already a decent smattering of channel settings, I just don't know how they comprehensively compare.