Picked up new Pro-106

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbtins

I went out and got one yesterday during the last day of the sale. I had been reading around to see what to get and I must say... I love it. I have been messing with scanners and radios for 20 years or more, but got out of some time back when just about everything in my area went trunked and digital. This was a good unit to get back into the hobby with for sure.

I used the standard ARC500 that came with it and found it to be very good for what I need it to do. Much easier than programming by hand and once you get used to the quirks of the software, you can use it pretty well.

I had everything up and running in about one hour and I devoured the book from front to back to make sure that I knew the features and how to use them.

Thanks to all for the good advice and reviews that you all offered on the current products on the market. You all helped me decide and I love this choice!

Now, off to the for sales to put my old Pro-46 up there! ;-)

Mike T

bikertom

Mike, you remind me of what I just went through. My last scanner was a Pro-34 which became useless when all our local public safety systems changed. I started listening online with a WinMo app recently, but that was too limiting and I also wound up selecting the Pro-106 and bought on sale Friday. I love it too!! However, with my "old school" scanner knowledge, I've found it a bit challenging understanding these new features (V-Scanner, talkgroups, objects, etc.).

mbtins

Computer control....

Just being able to load the freqs with a computer is worth it for me. My old scanner is a 100 channel scanner and I used just about all of them -- talk about a pain in the rear to re-load them when / if I lost them.

I am truly rediscovering the joy of this hobby.

Mike T

396nova