Pro-197 assistance

rlvdorr

Premium Subscriber
This is my first time on a thread so please bear with me. I have a pro-197 i purchased in June 2023 for $65. I am not computer literate big time. I cannot go to the radio shack sight because there isn't one. I have the firmware downloaded to my laptop but the question is ho to get it from my laptop to my scanner? I purchased a pc/ip cable from Whistler but how to move from one to the other? I'm ready to pull my hair out what little is left. So if someone could please take my hand and show me how I would appreciate it.
Thanks
Ron
rlvdorr

Last edited:

Nasby

If it’s firmware, I wouldn’t waste much time worrying about it unless the unit is bricked. The pro197 is pretty much ready to go right out of the box. Firmware updates were usually just tweaks for minor things.

But there is an easy way to do it. I can’t recall the steps but if you look in the Wiki under scanner models, there should be something there that shows how.

nanobug

Premium Subscriber
This is my first time on a thread so please bear with me. I have a pro-197 i purchased in June 2023 for $65. I am not computer literate big time. I cannot go to the radio shack sight because there isn't one. I have the firmware downloaded to my laptop but the question is ho to get it from my laptop to my scanner? I purchased a pc/ip cable from Whistler but how to move from one to the other? I'm ready to pull my hair out what little is left. So if someone could please take my hand and show me how I would appreciate it.
Thanks
Ron
rlvdorr

tvengr

Well Known Member