• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Pro 96 question

Status
Not open for further replies.

xline8

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
6
Here's an easy one I just cannot figure out... How can I go directly to a group ID manually. I am listening to Columbus Fire in Ohio which is a Motorola type 2 trunked system. They dispatch and tell units to go to a specific tac chaneel (ex: batallion 1 fire ground). How can I manually go to this channel without having to scan until it comes on and hitting pause? Thanks!
 

KCChiefs9690

CQ DX
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Messages
1,786
Location
Lewis Center, OH
When you are in manual mode, press FUNC + TRUNK to access the ID bank. Press the arrow keys until the desired talkgroup appears, then press FUNC + TRUNK again, and it will hold on the ID for you.

I am from the Columbus area as well, and this is a great feature when they go to the fireground channels. I owned a PRO-93 in the past, which wouldn't let you do this, and it was a pain in the ass hitting "scan" until the channel came up. :)
 

xline8

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
6
That for the advice... I tried this and it just starts scanning again when I hit func-trunk the second time. Do I have something wrong with the way it is configured?

W5JSS said:
MAN
FUNC
TRUNK
/\ or \/ to find the ID you want
FUNC
TRUNK
 

KCChiefs9690

CQ DX
Joined
Mar 20, 2004
Messages
1,786
Location
Lewis Center, OH
xline8 said:
That for the advice... I tried this and it just starts scanning again when I hit func-trunk the second time. Do I have something wrong with the way it is configured?

That happens to me sometimes, I think it is a glitch. Just repeat the process, and it should work. :)
 

W4KRR

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 1, 2001
Messages
2,909
Location
Coconut Creek, FL
xline8 said:
That for the advice... I tried this and it just starts scanning again when I hit func-trunk the second time. Do I have something wrong with the way it is configured?

W5JSS said:
MAN
FUNC
TRUNK
/\ or \/ to find the ID you want
FUNC
TRUNK
Try this:
MAN
PGM
TRUNK

Then use the up/down arrows to scroll to the ID you want.

Then:
FUNC
TRUNK

You should now be holding (and monitoring) on the ID you want
 

xline8

Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2006
Messages
6
Ken,

That did it! Thanks so much. I have been trying to figure this out for a while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top