Purchasing packages vs. wrestling through a new scanner

Wilderland

Premium Subscriber
Hi. This is my first post, although I have lurked for a while. My question is about purchasing a BCD996P2. I have no experience with digital or trunking scanners. Is it worth the cost to buy it from one of the on-line vendors who program and add county frequencies, DMR, NXDN, update the firmware, ect, or is it easy enough to do on my own through the Uniden site, and ProScan?

Thanks!

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
Welcome to the RR forums. First off, where in NV are you from? So I/we can get eyes on the database to see if the 996p2 is a good fit for your area & identify potential pitfalls (encryption, simulcast distortion, other issues which may hinder your scanning efforts ) I strongly encourage those to learn how to program their own scanners versus having a third party vendor program for you. This way if they make an error or something changes in your area you won't be at the vendor's mercy to correct the programming for you. Expect a bit of a learning curve if you have no experience with trunk tracking scanners. Plenty of folks here would be willing to lend you a hand with your programming. Also with regards to the paid upgrades it's cheaper to buy direct from Uniden as the third party vendors tend to mark the prices up a bit.
Proscan along with a Radioreference premium subscription so you can import data direct from the RRDB to the app then to your scanner makes programming a breeze

Some reading material for your perusal:

Wilderland

Premium Subscriber
Thanks, Whisky. I’m in White Pine County. There isn’t a lot here compared to metropolitan areas, but State and Fed frequencies here seem to run EDACS and DMR. Sheriff here is encrypted. Any suggestions would be great!

ka3aaa

Premium Subscriber