• Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

Toyota 4Runner Install

Status
Not open for further replies.

W1RHW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
233
Location
MoCo, MD
Took out stock radio, put in an Alpine CDA-9885 and a BCT-15 using the original bracket for the radio. It took for ever to figure out who to fit it just right (it is very sung in there) and minor modification had to be done to the mounting bracket. The antenna is the SCAN4 wire antenna that was cheap ($4) and doesn't do that bad of a job. Will eventually put an antenna on the outside, and mount my Yaesu FT-7800R in the vehicle when I find a place to mount the control head.
 

Attachments

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Nice, I have a 98 T4R and had to Rack everything in, darn DinE radio would not fit in that same spot you have yours.
 

W1RHW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
233
Location
MoCo, MD
MaxTracker said:
Nice, I have a 98 T4R and had to Rack everything in, darn DinE radio would not fit in that same spot you have yours.
DIN-E means you have the sleeve, like the BCT-15, but the BCT-15 also mounts using ISO-DIN (the specific arrangement of mounting holes). You can easily modify the bracket if there are any mount holes on the side, however, the issue I had with the 4Runner (and why I didn't put a transceiver there) is that you are very limited by depth. I guess I could do something like a Motorola Spectra there, but it requires making a custom bracket to hold just the control head
 

W1RHW

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 4, 2007
Messages
233
Location
MoCo, MD
CLTX11 said:
Looks good, I wish my "double din" would house my radio and scanner.

:(
May I recommend the Metra 99-9999 kit? It allows two ISO-DIN or similar units to be stacked in a Double DIN slot. I was about to use one, then it turned out I couldn't use one because it is for American cars with wider mounting frames (Does everything Japanese really have to be smaller?).
 

CLTX11

Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
440
Location
North Tx
HarrisonRHW said:
May I recommend the Metra 99-9999 kit? It allows two ISO-DIN or similar units to be stacked in a Double DIN slot. I was about to use one, then it turned out I couldn't use one because it is for American cars with wider mounting frames (Does everything Japanese really have to be smaller?).
It is a 98 Chevy Silverado, I have a pioneer radio in it now. I have not seen a ISO-DIN bracket for my truck.

I took out the CD player and it is empty there, I was thinking about throwing in a small CB, would fit I think, I am not very good with crap like that.

I used to have pics on the forums when I asked about it, no telling where those are now.

EDIT: I found the thread I was asking questions about this topic. My Din is only a 1.5 inch and not a 2, so I would not be able to do it.
 
Last edited:

brutalpilot514

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
122
Location
Oklahoma City, OK
I know what you're talking about on the Chevy. My 96 GMC is the same way, I just haven't bothered with taking the stock radio out yet, not completely sure if i'm gonna keep the truck yet or not. might trade it in on a full size 4x4 but might still keep it around and get a smaller 4x4. We'll see. If I keep the truck I'll let you know how i rig things up in the GMC if you're still looking for ideas.
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
GM sucks for using the 1.5din, there are almost no aftermarket radios that use the full size, wish they went the jap route and went to double-din if they could not stick to single din.


I say that as the owner of a 94 caprice and 02 gmc who wishes there was more flexibility :D
 

CLTX11

Member
Joined
May 4, 2005
Messages
440
Location
North Tx
brutalpilot514 said:
I know what you're talking about on the Chevy. My 96 GMC is the same way, I just haven't bothered with taking the stock radio out yet, not completely sure if i'm gonna keep the truck yet or not. might trade it in on a full size 4x4 but might still keep it around and get a smaller 4x4. We'll see. If I keep the truck I'll let you know how i rig things up in the GMC if you're still looking for ideas.

PM sent, do not wanna hi-jack the OP's thread.
 

Tim-in-TX

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
268
Location
Pearland TX
N467RX said:
Is that one of the older 4Runners (pre-2002 or so)?
I was wondering that myself. It looks almost exactly the same as mine and my 4Runner is a 2000. I know what you mean by snug fit!
I put mine in about 3 years ago:

 

Sjinndoawi

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2007
Messages
115
Location
South Florida
Nice

I had my install but I had to take it out because it is Illegal in Florida..Its time to move..Been here 6 years and still dont like it
 

Grog

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
2,959
Location
West of Charlotte NC
Sjinndoawi said:
I had my install but I had to take it out because it is Illegal in Florida..Its time to move..Been here 6 years and still dont like it

Getting your ham ticket helps.
 

SCPD

Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2001
Messages
65,126
Location
Virginia
Tim, you have the exact same console and dash as I have, Mine is a 98 T4R, with a Clarion in the dash. I have a Pro-433 that I tried to put in the opening below the stereo but it wont fit. Did you have to pull everything off to do your install? also, is that "Gripper Mount" from Mount Guys.com? Below is my set-up, I want to change this due to passenger complaints about footspace.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top