OP25 VirtualBox Project - Run OP25 on Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

whelgeson

Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
5
g++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <file:///usr/share/doc/gcc-4.8/README.Bugs> for instructions.
...snip...
Build failed. See output above for error messages.

how can i fix this?

The "g++: internal compiler error: Killed (program cc1plus)" error suggests that you ran out of memory while compiling.

You have a couple options here, in order of difficulty:
1. Allocate more ram to the virtual machine.
2. Reduce the number of CPU's cores allocated on the virtual machine, the more CPU cores the more threads the pybomb builder will use to compile causing it to eat more ram.
3. Increase swap space on the VM

If you go with option 2, after compiling you'll need to re-assign the CPU cores to the VM to give OP25 more computational power to do its thing.
 

Medziatkowicz35

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
128
ok it only allows me to use 3gb ram on virtual machine and 20gb of hard drive. I have 12gb ram. I have one core set.
 

Medziatkowicz35

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
128
Ok I got past that but now this

medziatkowicz35@ubuntu:~/pybombs/src/gr-op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps$ ./scope.py --args rtl=0 -f 853.6625e6 -o 10000 -N LNA:46 -S 2048000 -q 70 -V -2 -T jefferson.tsv
linux; GNU C++ version 4.8.4; Boost_105400; UHD_003.010.000.git-242-gf693349f

gr-osmosdr v0.1.4-72-g164a09fc (0.1.5git) gnuradio v3.7.9.2-286-g7a140379
built-in source types: file osmosdr fcd rtl rtl_tcp uhd hackrf bladerf rfspace airspy redpitaya
Using device #0 Generic RTL2832U OEM
usb_open error -3
Please fix the device permissions, e.g. by installing the udev rules file rtl-sdr.rules

FATAL: Failed to open rtlsdr device.

medziatkowicz35@ubuntu:~/pybombs/src/gr-op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps$ rtl_test
Found 1 device(s):
0: &#65533;&#65533; , , SN: &#65533;C&#65533; &#65533;

Using device 0: Generic RTL2832U OEM
usb_open error -3
Please fix the device permissions, e.g. by installing the udev rules file rtl-sdr.rules
Failed to open rtlsdr device #0.
medziatkowicz35@ubuntu:~/pybombs/src/gr-op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps$

So how do I fix this?
 

whelgeson

Member
Joined
May 29, 2016
Messages
5
Ok I got past that but now this
...snip...
Please fix the device permissions, e.g. by installing the udev rules file rtl-sdr.rules
..snip...
So how do I fix this?
It's telling you that your user account does not have permissions to directly drive the rtl stick. It's also possible that you still have the dvb kernel drivers latching onto the rtl stick to use it as a tv tuner which is its intended purpose, but a purpose that we're not attempting to exploit.

To fix this do the following:

sudo cp ~/pybombs/src/rtl-sdr/rtl-sdr.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo nano /etc/modprobe.d/rtl-blacklist.conf
Add the following lines:
blacklist dvb_usb_rtl28xxu
blacklist rtl2830
blacklist dvb_usb_v2
blacklist dvb_core
CTRL-X then y to save changes

Reboot and try rtl_test
 
Last edited:

Medziatkowicz35

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
128
here is what the "rtl-sdr.rules says.

# the Free Software Foundation, either version 3 of the License, or
# (at your option) any later version.
#
# This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
# but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
# MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
# GNU General Public License for more details.
#
# You should have received a copy of the GNU General Public License
# along with this program. If not, see <http://www.gnu.org/licenses/>.
#

# original RTL2832U vid/pid (hama nano, for example)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bda", ATTRS{idProduct}=="2832", MODE:="0666"

# RTL2832U OEM vid/pid, e.g. ezcap EzTV668 (E4000), Newsky TV28T (E4000/R820T) etc.
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0bda", ATTRS{idProduct}=="2838", MODE:="0666"

# DigitalNow Quad DVB-T PCI-E card (4x FC0012?)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0413", ATTRS{idProduct}=="6680", MODE:="0666"

# Leadtek WinFast DTV Dongle mini D (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0413", ATTRS{idProduct}=="6f0f", MODE:="0666"

# Genius TVGo DVB-T03 USB dongle (Ver. B)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0458", ATTRS{idProduct}=="707f", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec Cinergy T Stick Black (rev 1) (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00a9", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec NOXON rev 1 (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00b3", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec Deutschlandradio DAB Stick (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00b4", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec NOXON DAB Stick - Radio Energy (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00b5", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec Media Broadcast DAB Stick (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00b7", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec BR DAB Stick (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00b8", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec WDR DAB Stick (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00b9", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec MuellerVerlag DAB Stick (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00c0", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec Fraunhofer DAB Stick (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00c6", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec Cinergy T Stick RC (Rev.3) (E4000)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00d3", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec T Stick PLUS (E4000)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00d7", MODE:="0666"

# Terratec NOXON rev 2 (E4000)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="0ccd", ATTRS{idProduct}=="00e0", MODE:="0666"

# PixelView PV-DT235U(RN) (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1554", ATTRS{idProduct}=="5020", MODE:="0666"

# Astrometa DVB-T/DVB-T2 (R828D)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="15f4", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0131", MODE:="0666"

# Compro Videomate U620F (E4000)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="185b", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0620", MODE:="0666"

# Compro Videomate U650F (E4000)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="185b", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0650", MODE:="0666"

# Compro Videomate U680F (E4000)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="185b", ATTRS{idProduct}=="0680", MODE:="0666"

# GIGABYTE GT-U7300 (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d393", MODE:="0666"

# DIKOM USB-DVBT HD
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d394", MODE:="0666"

# Peak 102569AGPK (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d395", MODE:="0666"

# KWorld KW-UB450-T USB DVB-T Pico TV (TUA9001)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d397", MODE:="0666"

# Zaapa ZT-MINDVBZP (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d398", MODE:="0666"

# SVEON STV20 DVB-T USB & FM (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d39d", MODE:="0666"

# Twintech UT-40 (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d3a4", MODE:="0666"

# ASUS U3100MINI_PLUS_V2 (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d3a8", MODE:="0666"

# SVEON STV27 DVB-T USB & FM (FC0013)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d3af", MODE:="0666"

# SVEON STV21 DVB-T USB & FM
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1b80", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d3b0", MODE:="0666"

# Dexatek DK DVB-T Dongle (Logilink VG0002A) (FC2580)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1d19", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1101", MODE:="0666"

# Dexatek DK DVB-T Dongle (MSI DigiVox mini II V3.0)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1d19", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1102", MODE:="0666"

# Dexatek DK 5217 DVB-T Dongle (FC2580)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1d19", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1103", MODE:="0666"

# MSI DigiVox Micro HD (FC2580)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1d19", ATTRS{idProduct}=="1104", MODE:="0666"

# Sweex DVB-T USB (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1f4d", ATTRS{idProduct}=="a803", MODE:="0666"

# GTek T803 (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1f4d", ATTRS{idProduct}=="b803", MODE:="0666"

# Lifeview LV5TDeluxe (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1f4d", ATTRS{idProduct}=="c803", MODE:="0666"

# MyGica TD312 (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1f4d", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d286", MODE:="0666"

# PROlectrix DV107669 (FC0012)
SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="1f4d", ATTRS{idProduct}=="d803", MODE:="0666"

what is the dvb kernel drivers?

how do i install the udev rules file?
 

Medziatkowicz35

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
128
ok i got op25 working but have no audio yet. I am trying to listen to jefferson county ohio p25 simulcast if that matters.
 

Medziatkowicz35

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
128
It seems when there is alot of traffic it buffers the traffic for about 5 minutes then plays it all at once. Is this normal or does anyone know how to solve this 5 minute buffer during heavy traffic?
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
284
Location
Spring, Texas
I'm probably flogging an impossible situation here but I pulled an old celeron PC out with 2.4GHz CPU and 1.2GB of RAM. Yeah, I know laugh your butts off. ;-)
I started building gr-op25 last night. It ran all night and was at about 60% through when it exhausted memory and got the error below. My question is, once it errors out and it cleans its self up it seemed to move on. The hard drive is not thrashing nearly what it was doing this morning but I can see the RAM consumption is going up. If I don't use the UHD device (is it a device?) it was building is it OK to move on? Also, my swap space was set at the same size as my RAM. Can I expand swap and start over and maybe get it to finish? I suspect that the bottom line is, if it is having trouble with building gr-op25 it will probably have trouble running it too. I have another PC that is a quad core 3.2GHZ machine with 8GB of RAM. Its missing a power supply at the moment but its easy enough to replace it and try again. Is this just a fool's errand and I should just put a bullet in the celeron's brain and move on?
 

Attachments

  • cmake error.jpg
    cmake error.jpg
    40.9 KB · Views: 733

AggieCon

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Messages
1,448
Location
Texas
I'm interested to see if it will work. Increase the swap space and try again. If it'll compile, it should run alright. Maybe some timeouts but should be interesting.

If you want it to be easy, then, yea, go get a PS for the other machine.
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
284
Location
Spring, Texas
Yeah, I'm kind of curious too. I thought I read that someone said you needed at least 2GB or RAM and 4 is better. Since I got to 1.2GB of RAM and 1.2GB of swap maybe I should go to 3 GB of swap and see how far I get.

Its currently building the gnuradio blocks and is about 41% in to it. the hard drive is very quiet and I've only consumed ~650MB of RAM and 500 MB of swap. Someone said it would take a long time to build and they weren't kidding. Plus, with the artificial constraints I've put on it, it will take even longer. Anyway, its all part of the fun of the hobby ...right? ;-)
 

KA1RBI

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
799
Location
Portage Escarpment
Yeah, I'm kind of curious too. I thought I read that someone said you needed at least 2GB or RAM and 4 is better. Since I got to 1.2GB of RAM and 1.2GB of swap maybe I should go to 3 GB of swap and see how far I get.

Its currently building the gnuradio blocks and is about 41% in to it. the hard drive is very quiet and I've only consumed ~650MB of RAM and 500 MB of swap. Someone said it would take a long time to build and they weren't kidding. Plus, with the artificial constraints I've put on it, it will take even longer. Anyway, its all part of the fun of the hobby ...right? ;-)

would it be possible for you to run the install using the 14.04 version of ubuntu? If so, it's no longer necessary to install via pybombs. The new install method uses the stock versions of gnuradio, uhd and gr-osmosdr. Also, the install should work with 1GB of RAM in this mode. I've published instructions on the OP25 yahoo list. I can easily re-publish them here if there's interest. IMHO, this is now the preferred method to install OP25...

Max
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
284
Location
Spring, Texas
would it be possible for you to run the install using the 14.04 version of ubuntu?
Max

You're kidding. I followed mrlindstrom's YouTube video and he used Ubuntu 14.04. That's exactly what I'm using. I've been running the gr-op25 build for the last 2+ days. I've tried on Linux Mint Rosa and Ubuntu 14.04. I had to replace the Unity desktop with the Xubuntu desktop to get my little celeron PC to at least move. Yes, I would be interested in your instructions.
 

KA1RBI

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2008
Messages
799
Location
Portage Escarpment
You're kidding. I followed mrlindstrom's YouTube video and he used Ubuntu 14.04. That's exactly what I'm using. I've been running the gr-op25 build for the last 2+ days. I've tried on Linux Mint Rosa and Ubuntu 14.04. I had to replace the Unity desktop with the Xubuntu desktop to get my little celeron PC to at least move. Yes, I would be interested in your instructions.

Yep - as you've found out 1GB or RAM is not really sufficient for the memory hog GUI side of things. Our goal in this is to make it so that OP25 and its install is no longer the most heavyweight thing in the system.....

Note that in using these instructions it may be best to start with a clean install of 14.04.

The following is taken from my post to the OP25 yahoo group.

Historically the use of pybombs to install OP25 has been very helpful since it takes care of building all the needed prerequisite software. This is no longer necessary as of Ubuntu 14.04, which installs the 3.7 version of gnuradio. As a result we have a new install method that takes 95% less time than the old pybombs method, is less error-prone, and requires no more RAM than a base install of Linux. You can run this install in a machine with 1GB of RAM, although 2GB is recommended (this recommendation comes from ubuntu, and is caused by the memory-hog GUI - OP25 by itself currently does not require 2GB to compile, now that a source build of gnuradio is no longer required)...

This recipe has been tested on ubuntu 14.04 only, it is likely NOT to work in either 12.04 or 16.04...

First, use these commands to install the pre-reqs

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get build-dep gnuradio
sudo apt-get install gnuradio gnuradio-dev gr-osmosdr librtlsdr-dev libuhd-dev  libhackrf-dev libitpp-dev libpcap-dev git

Second, use these commands to build and install OP25: [Note, the mkdir build; cd build; cmake ../; make; sudo make install sequence is a bog-standard form when source-building apps that utilize cmake.]

Code:
cd ~
git clone git://op25.osmocom.org/op25.git
cd op25
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ../
make
sudo make install
sudo ldconfig

Finally you may need to use the command

Code:
sudo rmmod dvb_usb_rtl28xxu

to remove the DVB kernel module that conflicts with the RTL USB SDR. You may also need to edit the system udev rules for the RTL -both are common issues and you can search for the needed resources if the RTL isn't getting recognized... Once this is all done (no longer a need to source any env commands into the shell) you should be ready to invoke scope.py, which is the principal OP25 GUI app... As a pre-check, you can also run the osmocom_fft application (which should install as part of the pre-reqs) to test basic RTL connectivity and rule out related problems before invoking scope.py...


I would appreciate feedback and especially any trouble reports when using these procedures. If all is OK we'll add this to the wiki...
 

jcardani

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Messages
1,392
Location
Orlando, FL
Hi Max,

Would this install procedure work on any version of Mint Linux by chance? Want to add Op25 to a laptop I I am not using any more.

thanks!
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
284
Location
Spring, Texas
Thanks, Max I will give that a try. Since you say this procedure works better in running scope.py in 1GB of memory I should probably abandon the old method build. Although I have to say after it exhausted memory twice in my first run once I started over it appears the pybombs method looks to see if the files are already built and it doesn't build them again. This run seems to be much easier on the the system than the first run through. I don't seem to be gobbling up as much RAM and I'm barely even scratching the swap partition. My concern is that pybombs looks only at the file name to determine if it was built and not the checksum to make sure it was built correctly so that the points at which I exhausted the memory may have incorrectly built those files and would cause problems when I went to run scope.py. I will run your method and let you know how it works out.
 

jcardani

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Messages
1,392
Location
Orlando, FL
And with Steve Glass this week promising to update the OP25 Wireshark patch on the OP25 Yahoo group, things are really looking up! Thanks everybody!
 

jcardani

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 16, 2002
Messages
1,392
Location
Orlando, FL
Hi All,

Been a while since I last installed OP25. Did it using the instructions for installing on a USB drive and got up to copying the Airspy rules to the /etc/udev/rules.d folder

But when I try to execute ./scope.py get the following error (looks like the Airspy was not found):

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ cd src/gr-op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps
ubuntu@ubuntu:~/src/gr-op25/op25/gr-op25_repeater/apps$ ./scope.py --args "airspy" -N 'IF:12,MIX:12,LNA:12' -S 2500000 -f 852000000 -T orange.tsv -o 12.5e3linux; GNU C++ version 4.8.4; Boost_105400; UHD_003.009.004-0-g2b5a88bb

gr-osmosdr v0.1.4-72-g164a09fc (0.1.5git) gnuradio 3.7.10
built-in source types: file fcd rtl rtl_tcp uhd hackrf bladerf rfspace airspy redpitaya

FATAL: Failed to open AirSpy device (-5) AIRSPY_ERROR_NOT_FOUND

Trying to fill up 1 missing channel(s) with null source(s).
This is being done to prevent the application from crashing
due to gnuradio bug #528.

setting gain IF to 12
setting gain MIX to 12
setting gain LNA to 12
set_center_freq: 0
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "./scope.py", line 2751, in <module>
app = stdgui2.stdapp(p25_rx_block, "APCO P25 Receiver", 3)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gnuradio/wxgui/stdgui2.py", line 46, in __init__
wx.App.__init__ (self, redirect=False)
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wx-2.8-gtk2-unicode/wx/_core.py", line 7981, in __init__
self._BootstrapApp()
File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/wx-2.8-gtk2-unicode/wx/_core.py", line 7555, in _BootstrapApp
return _core_.PyApp__BootstrapApp(*args, **kwargs)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gnuradio/wxgui/stdgui2.py", line 49, in OnInit
frame = stdframe (self.top_block_maker, self.title, self._nstatus)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gnuradio/wxgui/stdgui2.py", line 76, in __init__
self.panel = stdpanel (self, self, top_block_maker)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/gnuradio/wxgui/stdgui2.py", line 98, in __init__
self.top_block = top_block_maker (frame, self, vbox, sys.argv)
File "./scope.py", line 224, in __init__
self.open_usrp()
File "./scope.py", line 1118, in open_usrp
self.__set_rx_from_osmosdr()
File "./scope.py", line 854, in __set_rx_from_osmosdr
raise RuntimeError("failed to set USRP frequency")
RuntimeError: failed to set USRP frequency


I copied the rules into the directory and executed udevadm command. Anyone?

thanks!
 

n5pwp

Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2015
Messages
284
Location
Spring, Texas
I'm interested to see if it will work. Increase the swap space and try again. If it'll compile, it should run alright. Maybe some timeouts but should be interesting.
OK, I finally finished building gr-op25. It only took about 30 hrs on the celeron machine. Unfortunately after I got it running it brings up the GUI and the terminal window just scrolls 000000 process_data_unit timeout. I did a little searching in the thread and it appears that's normal if you're not tuned to the CC correctly. The rub comes when I try to use the Fine Tune control or any of the controls actually. I can't select any tabs or even get the menus to drop down. The spectrum seems to render ok on the screen. There's no stuttering but I can't select anything in the GUI. I fear the machine is just too under-powered to run this. I will try using Max's process also. Plus, in my digging, I found JCardani's USB Live gr-op25 thread. I guess I still have options but it looks like this machine just doesn't have the guts to do it. I'll plug along a little more.
 

AggieCon

Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2015
Messages
1,448
Location
Texas
It also says that when there aren't enough resources... Well at least it was a good experiment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top