Whistler 1040 P25 Scanning Help

Tobruk41

Premium Subscriber
Hello scanner people, I'm a Firefighter and fire buff in Creek/Tulsa Co. Oklahoma, trying to get this thing to work properly. I bought the radio reference premium, and the PSR500 software as it was recommended in the scanner manual. I've finally got the thing programmed with all the agencies I wanted, some Analog and most on P25 Phase 1, Trunked system. Used it listening to Stillwater Fire and PD on the analog system and it worked perfectly fine. Today and yesterday, I tried scanning the departments (Sand Springs FD, Sapulpa FD, Tulsa FD, and some PDs) on P25 Phase 1, and it worked perfectly well sometimes, sometimes picked up half the transmission, and the just stopped and went dead. I know they were getting calls, because I could hear them on my other 1040 with wildcard options. I can't just use that one though, because the wildcard picks up tons of other things on the trunked system that I don't want like security guards, and highway maintenance etc. Just wondering if it's something I missed while programming, or I'm just better off with a different scanner or what. As you can probably tell, I'm not a scanner expert, I just want to listen to the Fire and Police departments around me, I film fire scenes and response videos. Thanks in advance.

Whiskey3JMC

DXpeditioner
Premium Subscriber
Today and yesterday, I tried scanning the departments (Sand Springs FD, Sapulpa FD, Tulsa FD, and some PDs) on P25 Phase 1, and it worked perfectly well sometimes, sometimes picked up half the transmission, and the just stopped and went dead.
Welcome to the RR forums. Sounds like simulcast distortion to me. You can try the multipath mitigation methods in the afore-linked wiki, they may or may not work but you'd be much better off monitoring using a Uniden SDS100 or SDS200