• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.
  • Effective immediately we will be deleting, without notice, any negative threads or posts that deal with the use of encryption and streaming of scanner audio.

    We've noticed a huge increase in rants and negative posts that revolve around agencies going to encryption due to the broadcasting of scanner audio on the internet. It's now worn out and continues to be the same recycled rants. These rants hijack the threads and derail the conversation. They no longer have a place anywhere on this forum other than in the designated threads in the Rants forum in the Tavern.

    If you violate these guidelines your post will be deleted without notice and an infraction will be issued. We are not against discussion of this issue. You just need to do it in the right place. For example:
    https://forums.radioreference.com/rants/224104-official-thread-live-audio-feeds-scanners-wait-encryption.html

XTS 5000 has no CLCK

Status
Not open for further replies.

n6wzl

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
27
Location
Pyongtaek, Korea
I set in CPS to either 12 hour or 24 hour with standard display format added CLCK to menu. This should enable CLCK button in menu display. But, no CLCK option is available. According to the manual, CLCK should be always available. What am I missing here?
 

W2NJS

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
1,934
Location
Washington DC
Only thing that comes to mind is that CLOCK can be on in conventional and off in trunking mode, or vice-versa.
 

K6CDO

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jan 12, 2003
Messages
1,062
Location
San Diego, CA
Only thing that comes to mind is that CLOCK can be on in conventional and off in trunking mode, or vice-versa.
To W2NJS, CLCK is available in both on my XTS5K ...

To N6WZL, You have to enable it and assign a soft key in CPS for it.
Is this the point where you say it is not available as an option?

If so, what version CPS are you using?)
 

n6wzl

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
27
Location
Pyongtaek, Korea
I did enable it in clock setting (12 hour or 24 hour format) and assigned a soft key. I read a help screen in CPS on the subject, and it does say that clock is only available with radio with keypad. Does this mean that it is only available on model III? It doesn't make sense since setting time and date only requires the four arrow keys.
 

grem467

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
881
Location
Houston, TX
Our 5000s are model IIs and we have the CLCK option. The menu option should always be a valid selection in the list of available menus.
 

W2NJS

Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2006
Messages
1,934
Location
Washington DC
Let's take the time to read what people write. I wrote:

"Only thing that comes to mind is that CLOCK can be on in conventional and off in trunking mode, or vice-versa."

Which to me, at least, means that you can have CLOCK on in both modes, or either mode, just as is written in the help section for the XTS CPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top