2019 Chevy Silverado Install

sfd119

I replaced my 2014 Chevy Silverado a few years ago and I’m finally getting around to posting the setup. Install this time took probably 100 hours total on my own. A lot of that time was just taking things slow and running the wires correctly. I went with a Havis widebody console.

Background: I’m a County radio system administrator for my day job. I also am a COML and COMT and get deployed to various incidents in the region. Additionally, I’m an officer on our Fire Department that does EMS as well so I use the truck for all three jobs.

The top radio is a Motorola APX 7500 in VHF/800. It primarily sits on our State’s trunking system. Depending on the incident/situation, it can become the tactical simplex operations channel radio.

The second radio is a Motorola APX 7500 in VHF. It primarily sits on our County’s Fire dispatch channel and scans the fire tacticals.

The third radio is a Motorola APX 7500 in VHF. It sits on our County’s Law dispatch channel and scans the different law channels we have.

Next up is a Motorola XTL-5000 in 7/800mhz. It sits on a tactical simplex encrypted 7/800mhz channel and also has interoperability stuff with Minnesota since I’m so close to them.

Finally for the radios, I have a Motorola XTL-5000 in UHF. It has the UHF NIFOG stuff in it and I leave it on UCALL. It does have some schools and utility companies that I’m authorized to have in other zones for interoperability purposes during incidents.

All five radios are tied into the X10DR wireless mic that is mounted on my console. I have a five port selector in the back that I can reach from the driver’s seat to select what radio it uses. Because I don’t have space for all my mics, the 7/800 and UHF don’t have a wired mic into them…I just use the X10DR to transmit on them.