A newbie question about good VHF UHFfrequencies to scan

Hawkman

I am studying to hopefully test next month on the Technical and General exams.
In the meantime, I have a GMRS HT that scans 87 programmable receive-only VHF UHF frequencies. I would like some recommendations on frequencies to program in to listen to some Ham transmissions. Thanks for the input, and if it is a stupid question, I am not sensitive. Just tell me so, BUT explain why it is stupid.

Thanks

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
For the 2 meter and 70 centimeter amateur radio bands, your best chance of hearing other hams is to scan your local repeaters. Without knowing where you live, it would be hard for anyone to tell you exactly which ones.

Your best option is to search any one of the many amateur radio repeater databases on line for repeaters in your area.

Don't be surprised if you do not hear much, a lot of repeaters sit quiet most of the time. Try around local rush hour, and check the amateur radio club web pages to see if they have weekly nets you can listen in on.

There are simplex frequencies, but without a good external antenna, anyone you hear would need to be fairly close.

Good luck on your test.

rk911

Rich
Premium Subscriber
I've attached a link to the Amateur Radio Band plans. I'm not familiar with the receive capabilities of your GMRS radio but just about any scanner should be capable of receiving signals in the 2-meter and 70-cm bands. Some acanners would be able to receive signals in the 6-meter, 1.25 meter and even the 33cm and 23cm bands. You'll want to listen to the national calling frequencies, simplex and repeater output frequencies. Your GMRS radio operates on UHF freqs so you may be able to program some of the UHF (70cm) ham freqs.

Good listening and good luck getting your ticket.

Ham Radio Band Plans

Hawkman