• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Astro Saber Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

mountedmedic

Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
10
Location
Pacific NW
Hello,

I have a Saber 3 that I have used for the fire service for years. My department is going to switch to narrow band and p25, so I am looking at buying a Astro Saber 3 (share same batteries and accessories) but have some questions. I located a seller with a Astro Saber 3, he says:
VHF 136-174MHz P25 digital ASTRO Saber III. YES, IT IS P25 Digital! Firmware version: R04.01.02 DSP I06.03.00 Flashcode: 540001-000000-4. It is secure-equipped with DVP and DES-XL encryption. If you chose to upgrade the firmware the DES-XL will start showing as DES-XL, DES-OFB because it adds the 2.5 kHz spacing.

He said it is narrow band capable but need to be sent to someone for $100 to make it work. Is this something that can be done thru CPS with the software? (I have the RSS for the Saber 3 and have done my own programming; I know I will need the CPS to do the Astro Saber). Its not clear to me what I would be paying for and I have access to the CPS to program myself. Can someone help me and explain to me what I would need to do to make this Astro Saber work in narrow band and p25? If this isnt ready to go or easily made ready to go, what should I look for in a Astro Saber?

Thanks in advance!
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,313
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Astro saber

You want to find a radio with host 7.xxxxxx & dsp 8.xxxxxx & a 1 meg radio. Flashcode # starting with 1 or 5. The radio you were looking at has a pretty old host/dsp. Check out Batlabs. Radios like you are looking for show up there from time to time. Good luck. GARY N4KVE
 

C138NC

Tactical Taco Consumer
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
743
Location
NC Taco Command
Hello,

I have a Saber 3 that I have used for the fire service for years. My department is going to switch to narrow band and p25, so I am looking at buying a Astro Saber 3 (share same batteries and accessories) but have some questions. I located a seller with a Astro Saber 3, he says:
VHF 136-174MHz P25 digital ASTRO Saber III. YES, IT IS P25 Digital! Firmware version: R04.01.02 DSP I06.03.00 Flashcode: 540001-000000-4. It is secure-equipped with DVP and DES-XL encryption. If you chose to upgrade the firmware the DES-XL will start showing as DES-XL, DES-OFB because it adds the 2.5 kHz spacing.

He said it is narrow band capable but need to be sent to someone for $100 to make it work. Is this something that can be done thru CPS with the software? (I have the RSS for the Saber 3 and have done my own programming; I know I will need the CPS to do the Astro Saber). Its not clear to me what I would be paying for and I have access to the CPS to program myself. Can someone help me and explain to me what I would need to do to make this Astro Saber work in narrow band and p25? If this isnt ready to go or easily made ready to go, what should I look for in a Astro Saber?

Thanks in advance!
must be the same one i looked at on ebay.
 

mountedmedic

Member
Joined
May 11, 2010
Messages
10
Location
Pacific NW
Thank you for the info. Its really helpful.

If I bought this radio, could it be flash upgraded? The seller said it could for $100. Is that rate reasonable? Is this something that has to be done by Motorola and not the CPS? Should I pass on this one and look for one like you described?

Thanks Again!
 

JnglMassiv

Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
856
Location
Chicago / 016
You do not need any sort of upgrade to program narrowband channels. Whether narrow or not is selectable during programming by, as you said, CPS.
 

C138NC

Tactical Taco Consumer
Joined
Jan 10, 2009
Messages
743
Location
NC Taco Command
Apparently the astro sabers do NOT support QCII, only Individual paging and calling if you catch my drift.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top