BC396T Sensitivity Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

W5HLM

Premium Subscriber
Greetings,

I just received my BC396T a couple of days ago, and so far, am very disappointed with the sensitivity. When compared to my BC250D, it receives better *without* an antenna than the '396 does *with* an antenna! You have to hold it just right to even get the Houston PD channels, and their transmitter is so strong I can practically pick them up on the fillings in my teeth!

I've checked to ensure that the attenuator is off, and I've tried about six scanner antennas with no significant improvement. I'm not exactly new to scanning--I've been tinkering with these things for about 25 years and have so many radios and scanners I've lost count, so I don't think it's a user error.

Is anyone else seeing these kinds of issues or is it possible I just have a defective radio?

Thanks in advance,

Haskell

safetyobc

It is possilbe that the unit is defective. But I doubt it.

My BCD396T is not very good on VHF-High. I purchased a VHF-High band specific antenna that helped a lot! I also bought the RS800 antenna which greatly improves 800 sensitivity.

I have a Pro-97 and it is slightly more sensitive than the 396. My best receiver is a Yaesu VR-120, it picks up everthing!

I would suggest buying a band specific antenna. This will help.

bobmich52

Hmmm, My 396T SUCKS On Low band, Programmed In The VHF High Extender Freqs, Works Great. But On The Rest Of The Bands, It Receives Great With The Stock Antenna.

Might It Be Your Location? Lots Of Building/Structures In Your area?

Let Us All Know How You Work this One Out

cristisphoto

NOT!!!! but yeah....

safetyobc said:
It is possilbe that the unit is defective. But I doubt it.

NOT!!
yes thier are some MINOR sensitvity Issues ..
But consider that size is small and it packs a "full", reciever..
FM Commercial,TV audio commercial and and of course APCO 25...