BCD436HP/BCD536HP: bcd436hp help

dlow8

Hello everyone! This is my first post. Let me start by saying I am new to all of this, and really interested in learning. I live in a small town in Eastman Georgia. I am looking to set up something for my parents to monitor the local police/sheriff/fire department. If I'm being honest, we are all nosey in this small town (ha). I searched amazon and decided on this bcd436hp scanner. It had great reviews, so I purchased it. I am not sure if I am doing something wrong, or if it simply does not work well in my little town. I have set the location via zip, turned on all of the settings (police tac, fire talk/tac etc) but I am unable to hear anything. I get a few scratchy words here and there, but its as if it is not getting the signal properly. I have adjusted squelch, hooked up the sentinel software and updated my firmware and database. I then googled the frequencies and noticed that the main one I am looking for has nxd48e next to it. I googled/went to the uniden website and purchased a key for the nxd add on for this scanner. I went thru a long process of adding in these keys. However, this has not helped with reception. Can anyone please advise what I may be doing wrong. Here is a link to the frequencies I need to obtain. Dodge County, Georgia (GA) Scanner Frequencies and Radio Frequency Reference . They are in my database, I have a hold on my county/area to narrow the scanned area. Thanks for any help you can provide.

hill

Premium Subscriber
You can't get law enforcement on NXDN they are encrypted. The E at the end is fulltime encrypted.

A small e would be partime encrypted.

dlow8

Thank you for your answers. I still have a few questions though.
1. What did the nxdn upgrade actually do? If the messages are encrypted, did it do anything?
2. If I had the encryption key (would it be possible to hear it then?) note: I do not want to do anything that is illegal.