Bearcat 885 SD Card Advanced Editing

What is your favorite function of the Bearcat 885?

• CB Function

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Looks Cool

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Sheepdog777

AE0TO
Hello All,

This is my first post to this wonderful community. A little bit about myself, I am retired Military / Federal Law Enforcement. I have worked with many different radio systems from the common HHR/LMR to running Intelligence, Surveillance, and Reconnaissance (ISR) systems & cables through old Saddam Bunkers/Tunnels in Iraq.

With that said, I am by no means an expert when it comes to the Science of Radio, which I am only just now deep diving into. The basic principles and utilization of various equipment really is limited to that of a Radio/Telephone Operator (RTO or “Ratello”) in the Military. Otherwise, a preteen Ham certified youth would likely confound me of the finer aspects of what I am finding later in life, a wonderful realm. Perhaps, I’m simply treading the same path of many retirees who suddenly find more time on their hands, but enough of my rambling.

Just received my new Bearcat 885, after much research in its capabilities, I chose to purchase it for a mobile solution to having exactly zero comms in my truck, other than handhelds. Having done the update for the SD Card via the “Handy” one touch Uniden software, I dug deeper into the file structure >BCDx36HP>HPDB folders to see what Uniden has made available to the “End User” John Q. Public. Knowing Uniden has held many Government (Federal, State, & Local) Contracts, I figured they had a pretty good library of Agencies, Talk Groups, Trunking, etc. WOW! I have to say I’m surprised!