Best Portable For Shortwave?

ditto1958

Although I am new to this, I can see that I will soon get the itch for another radio. Which currently available portables are the best for shortwave reception?

Blackswan73

Belka, bar none. Fits in a shirt pocket and is on par with most larger radios, including desktops. Amazing little radio. Read the reviews. It’s everything that the reviews say it is. Takes a bit of patience to get one, but it is worth it. If you want something more conventional, The Tecsun 501/x will merit serious consideration

B.S.

TAC4

Another vote for the Sangean ATS-909X2

-great build quality, has a Sony ICF look to it
-takes a 100' wire with no problem without overloading
most portables can't do this
-does not have mute tuning, mute tuning is so annoying, most
DSP portable radios have mute tuning
-super sensitive on AM shortwave
-air band is a bonus
-extensive station presets menu
-nice AM band width filtering
-has RF gain control
-great tumb tuning dial that is lightening fast and a joy
to use up and down the band when DXing for long hours

Attachments

• 91tEdSirq1L._AC_SX425_.jpg
    91tEdSirq1L._AC_SX425_.jpg
    32.6 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:

KD9KSO

The filters could be narrower for SSB, and you don't have a choice as with regular AM.

mass-man

trying to retire...
Premium Subscriber
I'm gonna jump in and second the Belka. for all the reasons listed above, as well it just is so handy and portable due to its size. Don't both with the onboard speaker, add on or built in, go with good earbuds or a good external speaker if you desire.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
The Tecsun H501X is also very good, but like all Tecsuns that have come after the PL660, the Sync Detector just plain sucks. Do yourself a favor and Google the numerous reviews. Then make the judgement for yourself

Mike

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus