can a discone 20-043 scanner antenna be used instead of an indoor coax antenna ?

Rhetro

hello
noob here.

I have Pro-2006 that's connected to a 20-043 discone antenna that sits on my roof. I also have an older TV that i'm using with an indoor antenna (with marginal results).
If i were to get a BNC splitter (with a coax adapter) could i use that on my TV as well ?

Rhetro

Thanks JT!
so the BNC input goes to the amp and then then you have it Y-d to the scanner and then the tv -with a coax adapter ?
which amp would you recommend ?

dlwtrunked

Premium Subscriber
hello
noob here.

I have Pro-2006 that's connected to a 20-043 discone antenna that sits on my roof. I also have an older TV that i'm using with an indoor antenna (with marginal results).
If i were to get a BNC splitter (with a coax adapter) could i use that on my TV as well ?
The discone antenna may to be a poorer than you indoor antenna for TV (which you did not describe). In addition, the indoor TV antenna is usually somewhat designed for horizontal and not vertical polarization. There are addition issues about impedance, designed frequency, etc . You can try it for your TV. If it works better, it is most likely due to the added height of the antenna and having in in the clear of surroundings in the house rather than the antenna itself.

Rhetro

Thanks guys.