Car AM/FM Antenna as Scanner Antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

TZB3

I'll start by saying I'm relatively new to antennas.

While trying to decide what kind of antenna set up would be reasonable for my vehicle, I had the idea to patch into my AM/FM radio antenna (the one that came with the vehicle) to use it as a scanner antenna as well. Would a vertically mounted car radio antenna (approximately 33" long) work as a basic scanner antenna for the 150-160mhz and 400-500mhz bands? I would be putting an in-line splitter on the car antenna cable and adapting it down to BNC.

Thanks.

jwt873

Premium Subscriber

bob550

Premium Subscriber
An antenna of 33 inches in length would be resonant at around 85 MHz, which would not be terribly effective at your frequencies of interest. Then too, the use of a splitter would further degrade the incoming signal. That said, almost any antenna outside your vehicle is better than one mounted inside. If it was easy enough to access the car antenna connector to install a splitter, you could experiment to determine if this setup worked. Keep in mind that the factory antenna connector may be of a type that is specific to your vehicle brand at worst, or perhaps Motorola at best. But, I would not cut the factory antenna connector in any way to make this work. I also would not keep both the car radio and scanner in use at the same time as one may cause interference to the other.

popnokick

Premium Subscriber