Changing Start up screen text on Pro-97

Status
Not open for further replies.

chris_1001

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
5
Hi All, I just got a Pro-97 last night. It was a customer return though... Not a big dealas it works fine and such.

what I have an issue with is some how he had programed his "if found call Mike xxxxxx at xxx-xxx-xxxx.

Now I think it would be weird to call him and I dont want to do a full reset. Is there any way to change the text? Or at least go back to the default?

I looked online and did a search, and found nothing and as usual the manual is useless...

Any help would be great!!!

Chris
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,741
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
Download Win97 from www.starrsoft.com and purchase PC/IF cable 20-047 from Radio Shack. Then edit as in this jpg. BTW, the investment in the software and cable will be well worth the cost for other uses.
 
Last edited:

Starcom21

IL /MO/Global DB Adm!n
Database Admin
Joined
Mar 29, 2004
Messages
863
Location
Glen Carbon, IL (MetroEast-St Louis)
reply + CENTERING text??

You can change it with the Win97 software from starrsoft.com.

NOW< another question....

Is that program capable of CENTERING the text, like it does with the Pro-92?
 

chris_1001

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
5
I came across the software you mentioned. And its on my list once I get the Cable.

I wanted to get the software to end the tedious "by hand" programing...

I saw two cables

20-047 & 20-289

The 20-289 was not on the RS site... Is it a current P/N? Is it better than the other one?
 

fmon

Silent Key Jan. 14, 2012
Joined
May 11, 2002
Messages
7,741
Location
Eclipse, Virginia
Terry,

Yes you can center the text in opening screen.

chris_1001 said:
I came across the software you mentioned. And its on my list once I get the Cable.

I wanted to get the software to end the tedious "by hand" programing...

I saw two cables

20-047 & 20-289

The 20-289 was not on the RS site... Is it a current P/N? Is it better than the other one?
Cris

The 9 pin serial 20-289 cable is being discontinued, but some stores may still have it available at 9 bucks closeout. However, if your PC has the USB port, get the 20-047 cable. It'll generate a new com port when the drivers are installed. This keeps existing ports free for previous uses.
 

chris_1001

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
5
I'm all laptop now, and I have a serial to USB converter. So I'll see if I can save a few $ and get the cheap serial cable.

Thanks for all the help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,514
Location
West Michigan
chris_1001 said:
I came across the software you mentioned. And its on my list once I get the Cable.

I wanted to get the software to end the tedious "by hand" programing...

I saw two cables

20-047 & 20-289

The 20-289 was not on the RS site... Is it a current P/N? Is it better than the other one?
The 20-289 is discontinued, but you may find it in the local Radio Shack.
 

chris_1001

Member
Joined
Oct 6, 2006
Messages
5
What about the 20-049? Will that work with my scanner and the software?

I saw that on the RS site, but it had little info on it and was only $5.

I don't see the need to spend $25 for USB, whan i can use that $25 for software.
 

DaveIN

Founders Curmudgen
Database Admin
Joined
Jan 5, 2003
Messages
6,514
Location
West Michigan
chris_1001 said:
What about the 20-049? Will that work with my scanner and the software?
I don't think so: "Compatible with 20-314, 20-315, 20-422, 20-423, 20-424, & 20-514"
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top