Coordinates in the database

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlwtrunked

Premium Subscriber
All he coordinates in the database should be fixed. Things like "W -77.12345" should actually be "W 77.12345", but can also be written as "E -77.12345" (though software often will not like that). This is standard geo-positioning. If one puts "W" then the "-" not only is not needed, it is just plain wrong. Putting a "W" in effect cancels the "-" and "W -77.12345" is the same as "E 77.12345".
(I am a mathematician who has worked with geo-positioning. ) In the geo-positioning world, this error is considered the sign (pun intended) or someone not knowing what they should know.

Dropping the erroneous negative sign will also then allow google maps to work, For example N 38 00 00 W 100 00 00 will be north of Dodge City, KS. Google will not even find N 38 00 00 W -100 00 00 as it dislikes the -.

GTR8000

NY/NJ Database Guy
Database Admin
The coordinates are correct, it's just the formatting on certain screens that include a N or W prefix, but those are not actually part of the coordinates that are stored in the RRDB. When we enter coordinates, we enter them as simply: 38.1834661, -77.6497113

Take this system as an example:

If you click on the site name, you wind up on the Site Details page, which inserts the N and W prefixes:

However if you view the Downloads and Reports page, then the Site Location Data Report, you can clearly see that the coordinates are correct:

Stating the obvious, if the coordinates were "wrong" all across the RRDB, then the Uniden location based scanning wouldn't function correctly.

Reconrider

OK, I understand, by screen you mean web pages, then those pages need to be fixed.
As already stated, they’re correct. If it’s an issue for you, take the 1.2 seconds and fix it on your app that you’re using. It works correctly for proscan and sentinel when importing to my sds100 and sds200.

dlwtrunked

Premium Subscriber