Double-biquad antenna with lips construction, which one is correct dimensions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Veronica71

I want to build an antenna for 2100mhz lte. I am following these instructions: Double BiQuad sector antenna for IMT 2100 MHz / 3G / HSUPA / HSDPA / HSPA+ / LTE
But when i use the calculator, dimensions is a bit different: BiQuad Antenna Calculator

First one from Double BiQuad sector antenna for IMT 2100 MHz / 3G / HSUPA / HSDPA / HSPA+ / LTE

1661763532805.png

And calculated one is like so:

1661763615702.png

RH value is 15mm for first one and it is 15.7mm for calculated one. Other dimensions is a bit different too. What should i do? If i build the antenna with a little incorrect dimensions what would happen? It does not work at all or it will work but gain is not too much?

I am a newbie for constructing antennas, please help me. Actually i made a cantenna and biquad for wifi before but they didn't perform as i expected.(cantenna was better than biquad) But this one is important. I bought a cell phone repeater to use in village and i will attach the antenna to it when i build it.

Thanks for reply for now :)

(Sorry about grammar mistakes that I made, I am not native English speaker)

K4EET

Chaplain
Premium Subscriber
Hi @Veronica71 and a belated Welcome to Radio Reference.

i believe this is where you found the calculator:

Have you tried other online calculators to see how they might compare with results? Quite possibly, errors due to rounding and precision point accuracy in the calculations might be a factor in the deltas.

Since the antenna will be used for both transmit and receive, dimensioning and layout will be fairly critical in that frequency band.

Veronica71

Hi @Veronica71 and a belated Welcome to Radio Reference.

i believe this is where you found the calculator: