Dual PC SDR Scanning setup with auto-recovery and redundancy (6x SDR, Dual PC w/ i7, 8GB RAM)

hruskacha

Premium Subscriber
This is an overview of my PC based scanner that I have been running since July 2021 on Muskegon County Simulcast of MPSCS. My setup has a few unique features that I have implemented over the years since I started monitoring. I always look for ways to improve, and I take pride in the active development of my pc scanner. With that said, I look forward to opinions and feedback.

Purpose:
To feed Broadcastify and Broadcastify Calls with ALL Non encrypted Traffic from Muskegon County Simulcast (MCS) on a budget and use of existing materials if possible. MCS has 14 Trunked channels across the 770MHz band and 850MHz band. I also want to have extensive debugging and logging ability.

What I put together:
I started off with a Dell OptiPlex 8010 with a Core i7 and 8GB RAM, I attached 3 x RTL-SDRBlog v3 SDRs to it and ran SDRTrunk to decode and stream the scanner audio. I then used Trunking Recorder to stream locally and via web, and archive calls.

The Issues began:
The system started off with low traffic, but as it ramped up, I had to add a 4th SDR to keep up with traffic, at the same time I experimented with using an Airspy R2 that has 10MHz of bandwidth, to cover a cluster of channels in the 770MHz band where most voice traffic is taking place. While I was optimizing the Tuners RF coverage with the Voice Channel Spacing of the trunked system, I noticed that Windows did not like to run SDRs at 2.4MHz Sample rate no matter what I tried, so I had to make SDRTrunk run them at 1.92MHz Sample Rate in order to lose USB data / buffer overflows. All of this in addition to that, SDRTrunk on Windows is a resource HOG! everything is pretty much pinned on Task Manager.

New Equipment, New Ideas: