BCD996P2: found channels not scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

tazn8tr

Premium Subscriber
I did a "search for....", in a system, group, found channels that were not programmed in from RR using ARC XT, after letting the BCD996P2 run the search for about 6 hours it found a bunch of channels, when I put the scanner in scan mode it scans all the channels up until I get to the found channels it stops at the found channel and just sits on the same freq. if I want it to scan the next found freq I have to use the selector knob to change the channel, it will not scan until I have gone thru all the found channels then it will go thru the scan then stops when it reaches the found channels, It does the same if I push the "scan/search" button I have manually go thru each found channel before it will scan all channels, Im new to this scanner stuff Im learning but I cant seem to figure this one out I've looked over the "easier to read BCD996P2" manual, but to no avail. any help would just awesome, remember nebie here, be nice

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Premium Subscriber
You probably found trunked system control channels, which are broadcasting continuously regardless of voice traffic.

tazn8tr

Premium Subscriber
well thats no good it seems that thats, the channels (4 of them) North Little Rock PD is using, instead of the system that the rest of the PD's are using, I will say you are correct since when the scanner stops on the found channels there are 5 bars showing at top of display.

wtp

to buzz or not to buzz...

that is the question.
if you hear a buzzing sound, it could be the control channel
but if you hear nothing it could be a birdie.
that is a channel that is being generated inside the radio.
and yes 5 bars is normal for this.
i always tell folks to scan from the lowest to the highest without the antenna.
that is a sure way to find the birdies.
then make a list of them.
my pro97 has so many in the 2 meter ham band that i run out of lockouts.