Frequencies question

Status
Not open for further replies.

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
10,231
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
Are you talking about the RR database or just in general?

For the county database pages right below the county map there is a dropdown list:
Input Frequencies: Hidden
Change it to Shown.

Input frequencies are not always listed unless somebody submits them. Input frequencies for trunked systems are not show in the db at all. You have to look at the license data for those.

Some bands have standard offsets so it is easy to tell.
 

tvengr

Well Known Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
5,666
Location
Baltimore County, MD
Generally, all you need are the output frequencies of repeaters to hear both sides of the conversation. The only reason you may need an input frequency is for determining how close you are to a unit. When checking for conventional frequencies in the database, you will find a box marked Input Frequencies near the top of the page. You can select Hidden or Shown.
 
Last edited:

WillB

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2009
Messages
314
Location
Henry County
Are you talking about the RR database or just in general?

For the county database pages right below the county map there is a dropdown list:
Input Frequencies: Hidden
Change it to Shown.

Input frequencies are not always listed unless somebody submits them. Input frequencies for trunked systems are not show in the db at all. You have to look at the license data for those.

Some bands have standard offsets so it is easy to tell.
Kinda talking both. I want to make sure that counties we run mutual aid with are programmed correctly in my radio.
 

nd5y

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
10,231
Location
Wichita Falls, TX
I want to make sure that counties we run mutual aid with are programmed correctly in my radio.
You should not rely on RadioReference for programming public safety radios. You can't count the data being complete or accurate. That could be a big liability problem for you and your department. So can programming your own radio to transmit on public safety frequencies but that's another issue.
 

burner50

The Third Variable
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 24, 2004
Messages
2,189
Location
NC Iowa
You should not rely on RadioReference for programming public safety radios. You can't count the data being complete or accurate. That could be a big liability problem for you and your department. So can programming your own radio to transmit on public safety frequencies but that's another issue.

^^^THIS^^^
 

radioboy75

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jul 31, 2004
Messages
200
Location
Rock Rapids, Iowa
You should not rely on RadioReference for programming public safety radios. You can't count the data being complete or accurate. That could be a big liability problem for you and your department. So can programming your own radio to transmit on public safety frequencies but that's another issue.
Yep. First rule of government service -- always have someone else you can blame. If you do it yourself, you're liable. If you have someone else do it, it can always be their fault.
 

a417

!#
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,819
Ask your system administrator nicely, they might even program your radio for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top