Ham repeater frequencies

Status
Not open for further replies.

SSdudley2020

Premium Subscriber
I am new at this so be kind. I would like to know a resource to go too to find ham radio repeater frequencies in my area. Also, I have a SDS 100 and would like to know how
program these frequencies to my scanner.

TexTAC

Go to repeaterbook.com and do a search by your county or city. Program the output channel (downlink channel) into your scanner as a conventional channel.

TexTAC

The SDS100 also has a search function which lets you scan a range of frequencies. You can add these search bands as part of your regular scanning lists (search with scan). Ham radio uses several bands, but the most popular (and the ones you can hear skywarn weather spotters on during storms) are:

2 meter band : 144 to 148 MHz

70 cm band : 420 to 450 MHz

That way you don’t need to know the repeater frequencies cause it will scan all of them including simplex.

AB5ID

Android:
Apple:

ko6jw_2

Premium Subscriber
First of all there is no complete listings of ham radio repeaters to be found. Example: the RR database does not list ANY repeaters for my county. Even the ARRL repeater book is deficient. Also, it will list repeaters with the helpful information "covers area."

Some repeaters are privately owned and are not open to anyone but members. They are often not listed.

Using search features on scanners is problematical because some repeaters have very little traffic.

The best way to find repeaters is to locate the web sites of local clubs. They will list all their repeaters, their locations and CTCSS codes. For scanning you probably don't need the input frequencies. Some repeaters encode PL, but not all. Private repeaters will not be listed since they are not operated by the club.

Check the band plans. They will list the segments allocated to repeater outputs or simplex operation. Saves time when searching. Example, the 70cm band has no repeaters in the 420 to 440 MHz portion of the band.