BCD325P2/BCD996P2: Hold after Detection

ThreeTima

Premium Subscriber
So I am extremely new to this whole scanner thing, so please bear with me. I only got a scanner within the last 3 months... I'm still just learning how to properly program...

I'm not even sure what it is called, in reference to Scanners. So I am not sure what to look for in my settings and/or manuals. That being said: I am looking for a way to delay the return to scanning after a transmission has been detected.

For instance, if I hear a policeman say there is a wreck, I may, as a person who drives a lot, want to know where it is to avoid it. That being said, by the time I realize it's a wreck, I didn't hear where it is and it's already started scanning again... OR maybe it only caught the tail end of a transmission as it was scanning through.

Is there a way to "hold" a channel for say 2 to 5 seconds AFTER a transmission ends in case I want to Manually "Hold" or another officer/dispatcher comes on to confirm or something (which, in turn, adds the needed info)?

I currently have the BCD325P2 and use PROSCAN for programing.

Mahalo nui loa for any help given.

:)

ThreeTima

Premium Subscriber
Set a scan delay for the channels you want to hold up scan on.
Mahalo nui loa...

It took some digging around, but I found where to change this setting. It was easy to find in the manual... but not quite efficient.. I have subsequently found it in PROSCAN... and I changed it to my liking for the appropriate items.

wtp

Last edited:

ThreeTima

Premium Subscriber
DELAY is what you want, the radio waits for a call back (2 is good)
HOLD is how long it stays on the system. (0 is good)

Scroll to the desired delay time (-10, -5, -2, 0, 1, 2, 5, 10, or 30 secs.) and press E/yes to save and exit.
Scroll to 'Set Hold Time' and press E/yes.
Enter the hold time (0-255 seconds) you desire and press E/yes to save and exit.