How to determine all talkgroups affiliated with a specific P25 statewide tower site

Cowley639

Premium Subscriber
Hey everyone,

Not sure if this is in the right spot, so move it to the correct section if not.

I'm somewhat new to this... I'm in an area where I can only receive one tower site of a large statewide 800mHz P25 (Phase 1) trunking system (I'm in a pretty low area,). I have a Yagi antenna pointed at the tower connected to a old BCD996XT. I would like to have a way to determine all talkgroups that are affiliated with the tower site I am monitoring (not necessarily at all times, but on certain occasions). Is there an easy way to do this?

I have a pretty good list of talkgroups now just based on the departments within the geographical range of the tower I am monitoring, and I hear a pretty good amount of traffic, but I'm sure there are more that I'm not aware of.

I was not sure if an SDR is the best way to accomplish this, or a scanner? I'm willing to purchase whatever is needed.

Thanks everyone!

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
Here is a similar question in another thread, check for your answer here

Cowley639

Premium Subscriber
I guess I should add;

I'd like to be able to have a list of (hex or decimal codes) talkgroups affiliated to the tower at any given time, so I can cross reference them with the RR database then add them to my Scanner if I determine I want to hear the traffic on that talkgroup.

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
I guess I should add;

I'd like to be able to have a list of (hex or decimal codes) talkgroups affiliated to the tower at any given time, so I can cross reference them with the RR database then add them to my Scanner if I determine I want to hear the traffic on that talkgroup.

Then I should add you need to get a pen and paper and do a lot of logging and listening, and be aware it could change from time to time based on the system rules for affiliation.

Cowley639

Premium Subscriber