How to identify system type used on a known frequency (Not in Database)

downeydigs

Premium Subscriber
I hope this is the appropriate forum to post this question; if not, please point me in the right direction. Also, I have searched for an answer prior to posting. I'm sure the answer is already out there somewhere, but I can't find it.

Preface:
I will preface my post by stating that I am a very novice scanner user; I mostly just listen. My knowledge of radio transmission technology is very basic, and my understanding of newer digital technologies (e.g. DMR, MotoTRBO, P25 Phase 1/2, simulcast, etc.) is even less. I have relied heavily on RR database to program my scanners up until now that I'm trying to identify and program something that is not in the database.

I am actually helping a friend with the process of selecting, purchasing, and programming the first scanner that they have owned since everything in our area was analog. This person is retired from a local company, where he was the director of health, safety, security, and environmental. He is wanting to monitor their radio traffic, for his own personal entertainment, from his home, which is less than a mile from their facility. I'm trying to make sure that he purchases a scanner that is capable of monitoring everything that he wants to, and that it is even possible to monitor what he wants to.

MY QUESTION: How can I identify the type of system (DMR, MotoTRBO, APCO P25, etc.) in use on a known/given frequency for a local company, and how can I ensure proper programming to monitor ALL traffic without excluding any talk groups?