• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

HT600 bricked

Status
Not open for further replies.

WX5812

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
266
Location
Fort Worth
I got a ht600 uhf 438-470. I was able to read and write 1 memory in the radio to verify it worked. It did. I went back to add the 6 other channels into it and it read just fine but would not Wright, after a few attempts the green light canon on the radio and since then I get error code 004. I can still read the radio but now it shows a generic serial number and the software says it’s a vhf model which I know it isn’t because I used it before this happened on uhf. No sounds no lights or anything now on the radio. I used a dos computer and then I tried to use dosbox after the fact. (I can program my maxtracs,radius,ht1000) no problem on dosbox. Is there anyway to revive this radio?
 

MTS2000des

5B2_BEE00 Czar
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
3,672
Location
Cobb County, GA Stadium Crime Zone
Sounds like the codeplug got hosed. You should be able to program a default correct split codeplug and get it working again. The S/N being generic in an HT600 is the way it should be, unlike the MT1000 and other radios, the S/N is not stored in the codeplug in the radio itself.
 

jaspence

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 21, 2008
Messages
2,483
Location
Michigan
DOSbox does not usually work with that radio. Real DOS and an old, slow computer work best.
 

WX5812

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
266
Location
Fort Worth
Sounds like the codeplug got hosed. You should be able to program a default correct split codeplug and get it working again. The S/N being generic in an HT600 is the way it should be, unlike the MT1000 and other radios, the S/N is not stored in the codeplug in the radio itself.
How can I obtain a correct split codeplug?
 

WX5812

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
266
Location
Fort Worth
Well it looks like its a gonner, will not let me load a codeplug with either computer. What a bummer! Good looking radio too! Guess I can find another one and rehouse it
 

petnrdx

Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2004
Messages
272
Location
Sparks, NV
I have worked on so many of those....Never saw one bricked that could not be saved. Not that there isn't a first time.
My guess is that there really is a hardware problem. Maybe a fatal hardware problem.
Often the trouble is connections from the top accessory connector to the radio circuit boards.
Have you taken it apart and re-soldered the connections to the circuit board?
Its always been worth the effort in my experience.
Those are great radios, but the constant flexing of the solder joints due to handling by the antenna eventually breaks the solder.
They kinda need that flex board to the contacts and the antenna connector re-soldered every few years.
 

WX5812

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
266
Location
Fort Worth
I have worked on so many of those....Never saw one bricked that could not be saved. Not that there isn't a first time.
My guess is that there really is a hardware problem. Maybe a fatal hardware problem.
Often the trouble is connections from the top accessory connector to the radio circuit boards.
Have you taken it apart and re-soldered the connections to the circuit board?
Its always been worth the effort in my experience.
Those are great radios, but the constant flexing of the solder joints due to handling by the antenna eventually breaks the solder.
They kinda need that flex board to the contacts and the antenna connector re-soldered every few years.

I have not tried that but just like you said it’s worth a shot! I will be back home next week and will provide update after I go in there and reflow the joints. Thanks for the tip.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top