R5 Icom ic-r5 (need help with antenna)

52kjh

Hi, I need help with some antenna options for my icom ic-r5. The antenna is broken in half but the device works, just need a new antenna. Im new to this so I dont fully understand how to find a good antenna. Its a SMA connector I think. I want to able to recieve on as many frequencies as possible they dont have to sound perfect but want a wide frequency range. I think the ic-r5 can recieve 0.150–1309.995MHz. Is there a antenna for all those frequencies or do you need different antennas? I want to hear 27mhz, 31mhz, 155mhz, FM Radio, AM Radio and PMR (446mhz) atleast. Also if its possible air traffic but you need a different antenna for that, right?. It has a buit-in ferrite rod antenna, what does that do exactly?

G7RUX

Antennas will typically be designed and most efficient on one frequency or band, with reasonable performance on (odd) harmonics, to a degree. There is no such thing as an "all band" antenna which has any appreciable efficiency.

That said, the 155 and 446 MHz stuff will probably be served reasonably well with a half-decent 2/70 amateur antenna and you'll probably find something OK for the 27 and 31 MHz bands.

Personally I would be making antennas with some stiff, springy wire and SMA plugs (cheap, straightforward and very good learning!) but if you wanted to buy something to get started then a decent telescopic antenna would be a good starting point (you can change the length to tune it); something like the NooElec ANT500 isn't terrible, if a bit pricey. Something like this might be a good bet and pretty cheap.

longbch

Mostly Scanner Listener, AM and SWL