BCD396XT/BCD996XT: I'm having trouble programming a Uniden BearCat BCD996XT

RJBTVTech

I work in the Engineering department at a TV station in the Albany, NY market. We have several scanners, each monitoring different services, Law Enforcement, Fire, EMS, ect. I'm a complete novice where radio scanners are concerned. My only experience is with the scanners my father and grandmother used 40 years ago. A few months ago I accidentally Factory Restored the Uniden BearCat BCD996XT that we were using to monitor Law Enforcement. I need to reprogram it with all (Local, County, and State Police) of the Law Dispatch frequencies and Talk Groups for the surrounding 13 counties; Albany, Schenectady, Rensselaer, Columbia, Greene, Schoharie, Montgomery, Fulton, Hamilton, Warren, Saratoga, and Washington Counties. Unfortunately, the person who programmed these units has long since passed away.

I'm trying to reprogram it using FreeScan 2.16, but I'm running into problems with programming Trunked systems in particular. I've already programmed in all of the "Site" frequencies for Capital Digitronics (Capital District Public Safety), an EDACS system, but I have no idea how to program the talk groups. There is nowhere to enter the DEC, AFS, Mode info in FreeScan, that I can see. Do I need to enter these setting directly through the faceplate on the scanner?

It seems that all this info would be exported from RadioReference.com, into the BCD996XT automatically if I had a premium account, but I don't think my company will want to pay for that. We may need to get a new scanner anyway, because it appears that the BCD996XT can't handle Project 25 Phase II APCO-25, which is also being used in the area.

Thank you, for any info you can provide!

RJBTVTech

Thank you for the quick responses. My Chief Engineer seems to think that a new scanner will come with software to program it. Is this true?