In Louisiana... what kind of scanner do i need?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mnr2469

Hello everyone. I am a complete newbie to the world of scanners and frequencies etc... I was listening to the Baton Rouge Police Dept on my iPhone but that feed keeps going off and of course now that i have listened to it for about 3 wks I am addicted and of right now it is offline and has been for about 5 hrs. I think I am having withdrawal symptoms :) So in order to keep me from going into panic mode because I can't hear the BRPD I think I may need a scanner, but I have no idea what to get. I am seeing 'trunked' systems, digital, LWIN (or something like that)... I don't even know where to start. Any assistance would be very much appreciated.

n5ims

You'll need a digital trunktracking scanner (Category:Digital Scanners - The RadioReference Wiki) since LWIN is a digital system. The easiest (and often least expensive) would be the Radio Shack Pro-197 desk/moble scanner or the Pro-106 handheld. These have recently been on sale for about $100 off. There's also the new Pro-18 that will do digital trunktracking with the advantage of easy programming (the RR database is included on an SD memory card so you simply select what you want to listen to, vs programming by hand or by computer).

The RS models are pretty much clones of the GRE PSR 600, PSR 500, and PSR 800 (the PSR 800/Pro-18 do have differences that are explained in the WIKI).

There are also Uniden models that many folks like as well. The BCD396XT handheld or BCD 996XT desktop/mobile are good.

Your choice of brand is simply that, a brand choice. The features, quality, etc. of the RS/GRE/Uniden models are generally top notch so the choice is simply price (at the time) and how close they work compared to how you like things to work (e.g. speaker on top, bottom, button layout, etc.).

mnr2469