liquidsoap - any other users?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vees

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
53
I'm currently using liquidsoap under Ubuntu Linux to handle encoding multiple stream sources, destinations, and codecs (MP3 and OGG). I couldn't find any mention of it in a forum search. If anyone's interested in learning more about the setup or trying it out, let me know and I can type up a short step-by-step list of what I did.
 

bezking

Member
Database Admin
Joined
Aug 5, 2006
Messages
2,634
Location
On the Road
It would be awesome if you could add a page to our wiki detailing your procedure.

Thanks!
 

kendrik578

Live Audio Administrator
Database Admin
Joined
Jul 3, 2008
Messages
1,584
Location
Greensboro, NC
Please do, might be something we can incorporate into our NEW audio broadcasters portal that we are working on.

Thanks!!
 
Last edited:

blantonl

Founder and CEO
Staff member
Joined
Dec 9, 2000
Messages
9,275
Location
San Antonio, TX
I did some extensive work with liquidsoap during investigation of technologies for the feed broadcast appliance.. a very slick set of tools and applications. Has a ton of dependencies though! :)
 

hacksaw

Member
Joined
May 16, 2006
Messages
49
Location
Broken Arrow, OK
I would be willing to give it a try. I have a ubuntu 9.10 server box sitting here and a spare scanner. I have not used liquidsoap before. ( or blackice) sounds intersting. I do run zoneminder on this box and that takes up quite a few resources, Liquidsoap light on processor I presume.
 

vees

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 13, 2008
Messages
53
I would be willing to give it a try. I have a ubuntu 9.10 server box sitting here and a spare scanner. I have not used liquidsoap before. ( or blackice) sounds intersting. I do run zoneminder on this box and that takes up quite a few resources, Liquidsoap light on processor I presume.
On my Pentium 3 667 MHz CPU, two MP3 streams and two OGG streams use about 65% of the processor with a load average of 1.7.
 

hacksaw

Member
Joined
May 16, 2006
Messages
49
Location
Broken Arrow, OK
I will give it a try, I am about 60% processor on a 64bit machine. I think I can squeeze a little more out of this machine. Zoneminder with 6 cams recording has the IO's running pretty good.. I think this will be OK to add since it's not writing to the drive, is it?

I will start a install on Tuesday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top