New RSP1A owner disappointed with spurious responses

Status
Not open for further replies.

DBMandrake

Just to chime in, I'm a new RSP1a owner, and am a bit disappointed with a few things as well, mainly that it doesn't work with SDR# (unless I use an older version), and the DC spike in Zero IF mode. I was running into issues with SDR Console, SDR# and others due to Zero IF. I'm brand new to SDRs and the technical aspects of radio in general, so I guess this is just the nature of the beast. One of the big selling points of the RSP was the 10 Mhz sampling, but I guess I can't use that in Low IF mode.

Overall, it's been fun to experiment with so far. Also, the SDRplay tech support helped me out with this DC spike "problem" I was having. I'm not too thrilled with the Uno software; it's just more complicated than I need at the moment. So far, SDR# and Console are my two faves.
I agree that SDR Uno just isn't very nice to use. Sure, it has most features of other software on paper but the user interface is the most convoluted and awkward mess I've seen and I certainly don't miss it now. (As it doesn't work with Airspy products and works poorly with my RTL-SDR device)

I'm still using the Airspy Mini and loving it. Because I was finding myself tuning into HF quite a bit on the RTL-SDR v3, but was fully aware of its limitations in direct sampling mode I decided to fork out for the Spyverter up converter - which can be used with both the Airspy Mini and RTL-SDR v3, (Or any SDR radio in fact, as it supports both Bias-T and USB power) and I've been very pleased with its performance. (Of course an Airspy Mini + Spyverter is a lot more expensive than an RSP1A, so certainly isn't the cheapest way to get HF and VHF/UHF coverage)

In fact I'm easily able to receive BBC Radio 4 way down on 198Khz with a small antenna in my window which didn't even show up at all on the direct sampling mode of the RTL-SDR. (which I think only goes down to around 500Khz)