New to the hobby

moneyman605

Hello, I'm still new to the scanner world. I have an Outside antenna for my scanner that's mounted next to my house. It's a discone antenna but it doesn't reach above the eve on my roof, can someone kinda give me a little direction. Will raising my antenna above the roof give me a better signal, also does anyone recommend a pre-amplifier.

TAC4

"Hight is might" is the mantra for antennas. VHF and 80O Mhz band are line of site transmissions so antennas need to see each other sort of speak. So the higher your discone the better. You want your discone well above your roof line, 10 feet above that point would be ideal.

Make sure you are following local antenna grounding electrical codes in your area. Also get a disconnect outside for your coax so you can disconnect the coax in an lightening storm. No need for a pre amp if you live in the city. For an outside disconect use a barrel connector so you can joint two lengths of coax together. Welcome to the forum.

Attachments

• Line-of-Sight-LOS-propagation.jpg
    Line-of-Sight-LOS-propagation.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 3
  • so-239-uhf-female-to-female-jack-coupler-rf-coaxial-adapter-barrel-connector-for-pl-259-plugs-...jpg
    so-239-uhf-female-to-female-jack-coupler-rf-coaxial-adapter-barrel-connector-for-pl-259-plugs-...jpg
    19.8 KB · Views: 3
Last edited:

moneyman605

"Hight is might" is the mantra for antennas. VHF and 80O Mhz band are line of site transmissions so antennas need to see each other sort of speak. So the higher your discone the better. You want you discone well above your roof line, 10 feet above that point would be ideal.

Make sure you are following local antenna grounding electrical codes in your area. Also get a disconnect outside for your coax so you can disconnect the coax in an lightening storm. No need for a pre amp if you live in the city. For an outside disconect use a barrel connector to you can joint to lengths of coax to. Welcome to the forum.
Thank you.