SDRTrunk P25 Patched Talkgroups?

phillydjdan

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
2,088
I am setting up SDRTrunk on a P25 Phase 1 system, but the FD uses extensive patching (Multicasting), and the software is not playing the patched transmissions. Any non-patched transmissions are fine, it just ignores the patches. Any fix for this? Using Windows verison 5
 

boatbod

Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
2,690
Location
Talbot Co, MD
Not that it really helps you, but there are specific vendor-specific P25 trunking messages that have to be acted upon for patches to work properly.

TSBK opcode=0x00, mfrid=0x90 [MOT_GRG_ADD_CMD]
TSBK opcode=0x01, mfrid=0x90 [MOT_GRG_DEL_CMD]
TSBK opcode=0x30, mfrid=0xA4 [GRG_EXENC_CMD]
 

wgbecks

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
313
Location
Porterfield, Wisconsin
SDRTrunk v0.5.0-alpha6 is working normally with patched groups on a Motorola system whereby the SG takes the form of one of the TGID's
patched. Is it possible your system is Harris (mfid=0xA4) system that might possibly make use a completely different TGID as the SG in the patch, and whereby that SG falls into your blacklist?

Further assuming you are using a blacklist wildcard setup, then try disabling it to determine if your start to receive patched traffic from SG involved with the patch.
 

phillydjdan

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
2,088
It is a Motorola system, but I will disable the blacklist and see what happens
 

wgbecks

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
313
Location
Porterfield, Wisconsin
Even with a Motorola system, it's possible the TGID that gets assigned as the SG for the patched groups may fall into your blacklist groups.
It that turns out to be the case then you'll be able fixt it rather handily.
 

wgbecks

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
313
Location
Porterfield, Wisconsin
You can see here in the Events window that TGID's 5027 & 5032 are patched together. The key in this example that that both of the
patched groups are set to listen in the alias list and are not suppressed by my wildcard blacklist.


Patch (2).png
 

phillydjdan

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
2,088
I disabled the blacklist and its playing everything. The problem with that is that in my case one is a fire channel and the other is an EMS channel and I don't particularly want to listen to the EMS channel. I did just try creating a blacklist with different TG ranges that skips the EMS channels. We'll see how that works out. Hopefully it doesn't play the EMS channels while a patch isn't present. [Edit} looks like it is playing the EMS traffic. IS there any way to fix this or am I forced to listen to it?
 

wgbecks

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
313
Location
Porterfield, Wisconsin
You'll need to identify the SG that is in use when the patch is active and then add that group to your regular listen lists before reenabling your blacklist. What groups show up in the Event Window when the patch is active? You may also have to enable logging if not already enabled for additional analysis.

Perhaps Denny might chime in with advice in this regard?
 

phillydjdan

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2011
Messages
2,088
I'm looking at the logs and frankly they have this system setup very oddly. They have 2 fire TGs and 2 EMS TGs, but in some instances the same patch TG pops up with the original TGs in brackets, but in other instances that patch TG doesn't appear, but the various original TGs do show up in brackets. It's odd. I know they use multi-select when dispatching runs across more than one TG, but the logs show 2 different sets of behavior. And regardless of how many TGs are in a patch or how many patches are active, it only appears that ONE patch TG is used
 

wgbecks

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2005
Messages
313
Location
Porterfield, Wisconsin
Here is what was recorded in the logfile for the two pathed groups shown in my previous post. In this example both TG 5027 and TG 5032
have matching alias entries and are set to listen on or enabled. I should only be a matter of adding the TG with the (P:XXXX) into your
alias list with listen status enabled.

"2020:11:04:10:59:13","","APCO-25","Patch Call","4009647","69P911 (P:5027 [5032])","0-637","853.887500","","PHASE 1 CHANNEL GRANT PRI0 CIRCUIT"
"2020:11:04:10:59:13","125","APCO-25","Patch Call","4009647","69P911 (P:5027 [5032])","0-637","853.887500","","PHASE 1 CHANNEL GRANT PRI0 CIRCUIT"
"2020:11:04:10:59:13","154","APCO-25","Patch Call","4009647","69P911 (P:5027 [5032])","0-637","853.887500","","PHASE 1 CHANNEL GRANT PRI0 CIRCUIT"

"2020:11:04:10:59:13","228","APCO-25","Patch Call","4009647","69P911 (P:5027 [5032])","0-637","853.887500","","PHASE 1 CHANNEL GRANT PRI0 CIRCUIT"
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
5,389
Location
Annapolis
Not that it really helps you, but there are specific vendor-specific P25 trunking messages that have to be acted upon for patches to work properly.

TSBK opcode=0x00, mfrid=0x90 [MOT_GRG_ADD_CMD]
TSBK opcode=0x01, mfrid=0x90 [MOT_GRG_DEL_CMD]
TSBK opcode=0x30, mfrid=0xA4 [GRG_EXENC_CMD]
Helps me.
 

maus92

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Jun 23, 2004
Messages
5,389
Location
Annapolis
On the PG County Moto system, when state 700 radios roam onto the system via ISSI, they are assigned a random TGID in the 20xxx range. On the St. Mary's County Harris system, when they simulselect their sheriff and the state police, a random TGID is assigned; I think in the 62xxx range. They don't seem to assign the TGID in any particular pattern, at least on the PG system.
 
Top