SDRTrunk P25 Sound Quality

scottct1

Feed Provider
My local police and fire will be moving to Digital P25 early next year. I am the person who puts their scanner feed online here.

I have been working with the police department on this switchover and they put up a simulcast of our fire department from the analog to the new P25 system for me to test thins out and make sure I can pickup and rebroadcast them when they move over.

I have setup a computer with SDRtrunk and can pick the test feed up. My antenna seems to be ok, I am gettin a power level of around -20.0 with a peak of -11.5. (As shown in SDRtrunks Channel / Power screen.

I have 3 SDR dongles hooked up and all appear to be working.

The issue is the sound quality. I am new to listening to digital scanners but to me the sound quality is hard to understand.

Here is a sample... audiotest.mp3

Is this the way that things are supposed to sound using SDRtrunk?

I don't really want to spend $700 on a SDS-200 but will if there is a dramatic increase of sound clarity one one.

Is digital radio supposed to sound like this? is it a SDRtrunk issue, is it just the way P25 is supposed to sound, or shall I bite the bullet and buy a SDS200? I wanted to use SDRtrunk to not only send audio to Broadcastify, but also wanted to add the feed to their feeds service as well.

Thanks for any advice you can give.

RaleighGuy

Premium Subscriber
@scottct1 have you tried other decoders? I use Unitrunker V2 and Trunking Recorder to feed to Broadcastify and it seems to be doing good for years now.

You might try others and see how they sound before deciding to make the jump to a SDS200.

ChrisABQ