Pinellas County P25 (802.BEE00)

batdude

Florida Db Admin / Forum Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jul 29, 2002
Messages
681
Location
East Central, Florida
trying to figure out the sites for Pinellas County. Some of this is just opinion ... so YMMV.

reference: Pinellas County Trunking System, Pinellas County, Florida - Scanner Frequencies

Their FCC licenses... of which there are several, seem to be set up as a Simulcast-like system .... which isn't what they seem to have on the air.

I will start with Site 1.12 (the 700Mhz site) - which seems to be correctly licensed as WQLM585 and operating on three channels (769.10625, 769.50625 and 770.00625) - per their license, this site appears to be a three-site simulcast...with sites in Largo, St. Pete and Tarpon Springs.

1604249618196.png
1604249684990.png


The other sites.... seem to be a complete mess between all of these licenses:


That said - there is at least SOME consistency between all of these licenses and mapped out sites (also note that the 3 700mhz sites "fit" this map as well:

1604250275491.png


The frequency structure of the licenses and the data that I see on DSD+ does not indicate a simulcast system, per se - mainly since all of the sites use different frequencies, but at least "by the data" - they operate a 6 site system.

Can someone out that way with DSD+ take a run on each of the Pinellas sites and post the data (either here or send to me via PM if you wish to remain anon?

It would also be nice to know which site goes to which location > like "1.2 is XYZ City".

Here is the data from my DSDPLUS.P25 data file that I am looking for (keep in mind, I am a good distance from Pinellas County, so MY DATA IS NOT 100%.

///////

Network: BEE00.802 ; Pinellas County

Bandplan #0: Base=851.00625 Offset=-45 Spacing=6.25 BW=12.5
Bandplan #1: Base=769.0125 Offset=+30 Spacing=6.25 BW=12.5


Site: 1.2

Channel 0-85: 851.5375 CC


Site: 1.4 NAC=800

Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.2
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.5
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.10
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.12

Channel 0-833: 856.2125 VOICE
Channel 0-913: 856.7125 VOICE
Channel 0-949: 856.9375 SCC
Channel 0-1073: 857.7125 VOICE
Channel 0-1101: 857.8875 DATA
Channel 0-1109: 857.9375 CC
Channel 0-1153: 858.2125 VOICE
Channel 0-1269: 858.9375 SCC
Channel 0-1429: 859.9375 SCC


Site: 1.5 NAC=800

Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.2
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.4
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.10
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.12

Channel 0-31: 851.2 SCC
Channel 0-93: 851.5875 VOICE
Channel 0-97: 851.6125 SCC
Channel 0-173: 852.0875 VOICE
Channel 0-873: 856.4625 VOICE
Channel 0-917: 856.7375 VOICE
Channel 0-953: 856.9625 CC
Channel 0-1113: 857.9625 DATA
Channel 0-1193: 858.4625 VOICE
Channel 0-1213: 858.5875 VOICE
Channel 0-1237: 858.7375 SCC VOICE
Channel 0-1397: 859.7375 VOICE


Site: 1.10

Channel 0-1433: 859.9625 CC


Site: 1.12 NAC=800 BSI=WQLM585

Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.2
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.4
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.5
Neighbor: BEE00.802-1.10

Channel 1-15: 769.10625 CC
Channel 1-79: 769.50625 SCC
Channel 1-159: 770.00625 DATA BSI

//////////
 
Last edited:

chief21

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
1,415
Location
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
Short answer... The Pinellas "sites" are not physical sites; rather, each site is a separate wide-area radio system. Most (perhaps, all) of those systems are multi-location simulcast.
Site 5 is primary for most agencies and I believe site 4 is primary for St Petersburg. I think the other smaller sites are special-purpose.
 

RYGDWW

Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2010
Messages
6
Location
Pinellas
Short answer... The Pinellas "sites" are not physical sites; rather, each site is a separate wide-area radio system. Most (perhaps, all) of those systems are multi-location simulcast.
Site 5 is primary for most agencies and I believe site 4 is primary for St Petersburg. I think the other smaller sites are special-purpose.
Good info. Currently setting up my new SDS100. Is there a speed of scanning advantage to omitting sites 1, 2, and 3 if the targets for scanning are the larger agencies?

Thanks
 

chief21

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Mar 2, 2004
Messages
1,415
Location
Summer - Western NC; Winter - Tampa Bay FL
Is there a speed of scanning advantage to omitting sites 1, 2, and 3 if the targets for scanning are the larger agencies?
When scanning trunked systems, the fewer sites/systems that have to be cycled through, the faster the overall scanning will be. Each separate control channel must be acquired and briefly monitored for valid activity before the scanner can move on to the next site/system.
 

k3baz

Newbie
Premium Subscriber
Joined
May 9, 2004
Messages
1
Location
Cockeysville, MD
I've been monitoring Site-005. For the past several days I've been seeing control traffic in 856.9625 instead of the main control channel in the database of 851.200. Is there something going on with 851.200 or does the database need to be updated?
 

zlandmedia

not that florida man
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Feb 10, 2012
Messages
168
Location
Tampa. FL
I've been monitoring Site-005. For the past several days I've been seeing control traffic in 856.9625 instead of the main control channel in the database of 851.200. Is there something going on with 851.200 or does the database need to be updated?
856.9625 is highlighted in blue on the database listing, which means it's an alternate control channel. It's not uncommon for control channels to move around on a system.
 

FL2WAYRF

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
235
I've been monitoring Site-005. For the past several days I've been seeing control traffic in 856.9625 instead of the main control channel in the database of 851.200. Is there something going on with 851.200 or does the database need to be updated?
Motorola subscribers can determine these alternate CC's. Harris on the other hand, needs them all entered.
 

wanabe

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
76
Motorola subscribers can determine these alternate CC's. Harris on the other hand, needs them all entered.
I have 2 Harris radios a P7100 and P5100. I haven’t used them in a month or so because I’m using an APX 7000, ( which works fine on Pinellas) but when I turned both Harris radios on today, they are both deaf on the Pinellas P25 system. They have worked flawlessly for years. Hills SO comes in loud and clear on Edacs. Did some thing happen to the control channel? I forgot how to load them for a Harris radio on a Motorola system. Would any have any ideas? Kind of stumped. TIA
 

FL2WAYRF

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
235
I have 2 Harris radios a P7100 and P5100. I haven’t used them in a month or so because I’m using an APX 7000, ( which works fine on Pinellas) but when I turned both Harris radios on today, they are both deaf on the Pinellas P25 system. They have worked flawlessly for years. Hills SO comes in loud and clear on Edacs. Did some thing happen to the control channel? I forgot how to load them for a Harris radio on a Motorola system. Would any have any ideas? Kind of stumped. TIA
Negative, Harris works fine on the system. Make sure all your CCs and ACCs are entered in and your WAN is setup correctly.
 

wanabe

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
76
Thank you guys.. The radios have worked for years flawlessly on Pinellas P25. I have not changed any thing. My APX 7000 is working great too. Just the 2 Harris radios have gone deaf in the past 2-3 months..I am stumped..Hey ,if anyone has RPM and wants to take a look at my .pers file, I would be grateful. If you don’t have RPM, I can get you both 10.b07 and 14. Thanks
 

wanabe

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
76
You know what, I was looking at the Pinellas P25 control channels from the database and I’m missing a few of them. They were added last year, way after I programed the Harris radios 5 years ago. I wonder if that makes a difference. It does, right? I’ll go back and add all of them. Thank you.
 

mitbr

Active Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
1,173
Location
Tampa Bay Florida
You know what, I was looking at the Pinellas P25 control channels from the database and I’m missing a few of them. They were added last year, way after I programed the Harris radios 5 years ago. I wonder if that makes a difference. It does, right? I’ll go back and add all of them. Thank you.
Do you have 856.9625 programed?
Tim :cool:
 

wanabe

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
76
Any one with a Harris or Macom radio having trouble with scanning the Pinellas P25 System? I have a P7100 ( that works on Hillsborough Edacs, no problem) and a P5100 that were working fine for 4-5 years on the Pinellas P25 no problem, but now, and in the last month or so I get absolutely nothing. So I updated the CC list that is listed here to 49 CCs, and I still get nothing. My Motorola APX 7000 works fine on the Pinellas System. Stumped. If any one has any idea, I would sure appreciate it (If any one wants to take a look at my .pers file, I can send it to you. I did it with RPM 10.bo7.) TIA
 

FL2WAYRF

Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
235
Have you checked your Ref Oscillator settings? Dicking around with some old 7100s, I noticed if it was off it would only receive edacs or only receive p25. You have to find the soft spot.
 

wanabe

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2004
Messages
76
No...never tried that..Mann..I guess I’ll try, but on both radios though? They both went deaf at the same time. It’s got to be a site, rfss problem or something else that I don’t know about. Right? I did update the CCs last night, they were missing 7 since I programed them back in 2015. And my APX 7000 is receiving them just fine. Thanks
 
Top