Yaesu: Power - Yaesu FTM-200

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber
I'm still learning my new Yaesu FTM-200. So far, I love it. The screen is bright and crisp, albeit somewhat small. Gotta question, though.

The radio is connected directly to the battery. It's an AGM battery with a couple or three years on it but still performing very well. If the radio is on and I crank the car, the radio shuts off because of the low voltage then comes back on automatically like nothing happened. Previous radios have always shut off and stayed off 'til I physically turned 'em back on. I think the Yaesu has some type of electro-mechanical switch. My question is, am I harming the radio by allowing it to turn off and back on without any physical intervention, save turning the ignition on and starting the car?

N4KVE

This is just my personal view, but I NEVER crank my car when my radio is on. I turn on the radio after the the engine is running. There can be a voltage spike the moment the key is released. Now my radio turns on automatically using the ign sense wire, but I have a timer set to eight seconds figuring the engine will crank less than that. Just a habit I formed decades ago.

Alliance01TX

Premium Subscriber
KK4JUG

I concur with the above opinions of awaiting for the engine to be ON & would strongly recommend (if not already) that you have both Positive and the Negative fused properly. I use #12 AWG with PowerPoles at my car battery / Radio and have used, in the past, a RigRunner (4004USB) in-front of the radio (Radio is in a Pelican case under my back seat area to deploy if needed) ) for extra protection and for an extra 12VDC power & USB charging point too...