Programming an Input Frequency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blackink

Hi all. I'm new to scanning but loving every minute of it.
I own a BCT15X and was wondering about programming in some Input frequencies.

Would I hear any talking/chatter/noise on these frequencies?

I've read up on Repeaters but I don't quite understand if they are of any use to me or if programming the "Frequency In" would produce anything on my scanner. If my understanding is correct, what I'm programming in my scanner now, frequencies from the RR Database, are Output Frequencies.

I'm located in Central Vermont, Washington County up on a hill and get good reception where I'm at. Strong radio signals with the stock antenna.

Can someone enlighten me, or direct me to a place that can help me better understand this?

Thanks and I hope your New year is going well.

Steve in Vermont

mass-man

trying to retire...
Premium Subscriber
A repeater is essentially an amplifier. It picks up a signal, and then re-transmits it on another frequency at higher power. Making it easier for other stations to hear. If you program input frequencies you might hear some of the mobile or portable units as they transmit, but it won't be a huge advantage. You will hear them loud and clear on the output. That said, go ahead if you want, and see if you hear anything interesting. The BCT15X has a lot of frequency capacity and it might be you hear someting interesting from time to time...as fast as it scans, doubt it willl cause you to not hear something on the ouputs.

captclint

Mentor
In general, there is no point to programming inputs. The mobiles transmit to the repeater on the input, and the repeater....wait for it...repeats it.:)