• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Provoice/arcgis info help

Status
Not open for further replies.

merlin

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
390
Location
South East Idaho
Just acquired some Ericsson jaguar 700Pi radios at auction. Been around EDACS enough I can work with that but would like to understand how the provoice works.
Can anyone provide links to in depth info for this, including but not limited to programming the provoice.
All the radios work fine conventionally but want to set up the provoice.
Seems they were all 'de-channeled' when pulled from service. A couple are missing knob caps, a source for those would be great.
Any help here would be hot, thanks in advance
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,030
Location
Ontario, Canada
In RPM, go to SETS - Conventional Frequency Set. Then for the channels you want to use digital on change the Voice Mode drop down box from Analog to Unencrypted. Now, go to SYSTEMS - General and create a conventional system. Then go to the conventional tab, pick the system and look at the Private Options box. From here you can select the vocoder to be used - None (analog), Aegis or ProVoice. And obviously to use Aegis or PV your radios need to have the proper features enabled. If you are using Programmer vs RPM the steps are essentially the same.
 

merlin

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
390
Location
South East Idaho
In RPM, go to SETS - Conventional Frequency Set. Then for the channels you want to use digital on change the Voice Mode drop down box from Analog to Unencrypted. Now, go to SYSTEMS - General and create a conventional system. Then go to the conventional tab, pick the system and look at the Private Options box. From here you can select the vocoder to be used - None (analog), Aegis or ProVoice. And obviously to use Aegis or PV your radios need to have the proper features enabled. If you are using Programmer vs RPM the steps are essentially the same.
Thanks. Much of that I already have under belt, what I am hoping to find is the technical stuff related to provoice that my radios are optioned for.
Programming is no issue.
 

merlin

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
390
Location
South East Idaho
More: I have 2 portables and a mobile on my companies 800 Mhz talkaround and working. In ProGrammer then just program for private (provoice) ??
 

Forts

Mentor
Database Admin
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
6,030
Location
Ontario, Canada
Thanks. Much of that I already have under belt, what I am hoping to find is the technical stuff related to provoice that my radios are optioned for.
Programming is no issue.
I'm not sure what kind of 'technical stuff' you mean....
 

merlin

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
390
Location
South East Idaho
What makes it tick, like what is under the hood if you will. I know there are data encryption processors sandwiched between A/D-D/A converters etc, that is about all I know of it.
 

merlin

Member
Joined
Jul 3, 2003
Messages
390
Location
South East Idaho
Well, I am digging up a little dirt on AEGIS, seems the big difference to provoice is in error handling.
Now if EDACS gets phased out I presume AES and other networking protocols will take the place.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top