• To anyone looking to acquire commercial radio programming software:

    Please do not make requests for copies of radio programming software which is sold (or was sold) by the manufacturer for any monetary value. All requests will be deleted and a forum infraction issued. Making a request such as this is attempting to engage in software piracy and this forum cannot be involved or associated with this activity. The same goes for any private transaction via Private Message. Even if you attempt to engage in this activity in PM's we will still enforce the forum rules. Your PM's are not private and the administration has the right to read them if there's a hint to criminal activity.

    If you are having trouble legally obtaining software please state so. We do not want any hurt feelings when your vague post is mistaken for a free request. It is YOUR responsibility to properly word your request.

    To obtain Motorola software see the Sticky in the Motorola forum.

    The various other vendors often permit their dealers to sell the software online (i.e., Kenwood). Please use Google or some other search engine to find a dealer that sells the software. Typically each series or individual radio requires its own software package. Often the Kenwood software is less than $100 so don't be a cheapskate; just purchase it.

    For M/A Com/Harris/GE, etc: there are two software packages that program all current and past radios. One package is for conventional programming and the other for trunked programming. The trunked package is in upwards of $2,500. The conventional package is more reasonable though is still several hundred dollars. The benefit is you do not need multiple versions for each radio (unlike Motorola).

    This is a large and very visible forum. We cannot jeopardize the ability to provide the RadioReference services by allowing this activity to occur. Please respect this.

Q for a MT2000 owner/ user

Status
Not open for further replies.

Otis413

Member
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
67
Location
Cass WVa
I own a UHF HT1000 and like it so much I've decided to get a VHF model for 2meter. But, I spotted a few MT2000 radios on eBay, 48 channels would be nice but I haven't been able to find a user manual so I have a few questions:

I understand it uses three banks of sixteen channels, how do you switch between these banks?

Is the options for the ABC switch the same? Or is that used to select channel banks on the MT2000?

The one I'm looking at has the display between the ABC switch and the emergency button, what can/does it display? channel number, frequency or can you name the channels?

Thanks in advance,
Otis
KD8VBV
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,369
Location
Midlothian, VA
On the model 1 MT2000, like you describe, yes, the ABC switch would be used to toggle between zones. It could be used for other functions but I'm not sure how you'd switch zones though.

The display can be programmed as you like up to 6 characters. There are also some characters to indicate scan, etc.
 

Nasby

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2004
Messages
2,348
Location
Ohio
You may want to look at the MT2000 / MTS2000 model II or model III.

They are about the same price or maybe only a few bucks more.

They have more channels (160), more features, and a better display.
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,369
Location
Midlothian, VA
Excellent advice, should've mentioned that! So long as the display isn't missing any pixels that is, as they're notorious for going out.
 

N4KVE

Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2003
Messages
3,043
Location
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA
Go with the MTS2000. Almost the same price, but can be programmed with CPS which is used with a Windows machine. HT1000, & MT2000 requires RSS & a Dos machine.
 

KG4INW

Member
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
1,369
Location
Midlothian, VA
the jedi radios ht1000 mt2000 mts 2000 series are some of the best radios made well worth the investment and they are mostly all narrowband capable.
One clarification, they all are capable of 12.5 kHz channel bandwidth but some of the older models can't do the new splinter frequencies. I agree though, they are fantastic analog portables.
 

stmills

Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2002
Messages
905
Location
Twin Cites Area MN
The mt/mts have the concentric switch on the channel selector knob. This is an on off switch- I use it as repeater/ talk around on my mt2000's. The added channels of the 3 banks of 16 is a nice step up from the ht1000.
 

Otis413

Member
Joined
May 10, 2013
Messages
67
Location
Cass WVa
Thanks for the info guys! I definitely like the idea of CPS so I wouldn't have to fire up my old DOS laptop to make changes.

I'll keep a close eye on eBay till I get my tax return, that's my personal Christmas time!
 

WX9EMS

Member
Joined
Jun 23, 2010
Messages
155
Location
Lake Geneva, WI
I have a MTS2000 model I VHF and it is set up just like you mentioned with the ABC switch to select zones, I use the concentric switch to scan. A model II or III would be better, but if this is all you have, easiest way to make the best of it. Being able to use CPS instead of RSS is a plus too!
 

kem554991

Member
Premium Subscriber
Joined
Aug 4, 2011
Messages
45
Location
San Antonio, TX
I own an MT2000 Model III in VHF that I mostly use for scanning and an MTS2000 Model I that I use for work and my GMRS system. The CPS programming for the MTS2000 is great, and I would highly recommend that you go with a MTS2000. As far as which model I will say that while the MTS2000 Model I works fine for what I use it for (one bank isn't even used), the MT2000 Model III is a huge step up in that area. If you can find an MTS2000 Model III in your price range, definitely go for it. If not you might want to hold off until you can afford one. You'll be glad you did in the long run.
 

rjk_165

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
481
I own an MTS2000 I UHF, as well as an MTS2000 III UHF. I love them both, and got them at great prices.

They take the ruggedness and "tough" characteristics of the HT1000 while allowing you to have more channels, the display, and what not.

And as a lot of others mentioned, the CPS is available for XP, versus the MT2000 software being RSS/DOS only. You can actually get the CPS for free, I believe, it's posted online.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top