Question about scanning

chance154

Premium Subscriber
Hi, I'm sorry if this thread seems stupid but I am new to scanning and have a few questions. I live in the Camden County area around Cherry Hill in New Jersey - I would like to scan my town's fire/ems but I can't seem to find the frequency for it - I can only find the DEC and HEX. I am also not sure what scanner I should go about purchasing as there are sooo many out there and I would like one within a reasonable price/possibly for beginners as-well.

Please let me know if anyone could help me make sense of any of this.

Thank you!

Last edited:
Please let me know if anyone could help me make sense of any of this.
This is for your area.

and this is the trunked system for your area.

An E in the mode column means Encrypted - full time.

An e in the mode column means part-time encryption.

chance154

Premium Subscriber
This is for your area.

and this is the trunked system for your area.

An E in the mode column means Encrypted - full time.

An e in the mode column means part-time encryption.

Do you have any Scanner suggestions for a reasonable price that could work with what you sent?

JethrowJohnson

Do you have any Scanner suggestions for a reasonable price that could work with what you sent?
According to the database, there's a simulcast site for that system. Older scanners sometimes have a lot of trouble with those types of sites. The Uniden Bearcat SDS100 and SDS200 are designed for those, but they're really expensive. Another option is you could get an SDR dongle or a Unication pager, or even a BlueTail P25RX. But on the other hand, depending on your location amongst the towers, a cheaper scanner might not do so bad. It just depends.

mass-man

trying to retire...
Premium Subscriber